Horror

Of Love and Evil: The Songs of the Seraphim, Book Two by Anne Rice - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Of Love and Evil: The Songs of the Seraphim, Book Two (Songs of the Seraphim Series) Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9781400078967
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Anchor - January 10th, 2012

The second novel in her Seraphim series continues for themes of love, evil and redemption in both the spiritual and physical realms. To redeem himself a former assassin must go back to 15th century Rome to help solve a crime by poison. Lyrical prose and metaphysical musing and a good mystery make for an exciting read. ~ Reviewed by Sarah Knight


11/22/1963

Staff Pick Badge
11/22/63: A Novel Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781451627299
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Gallery Books - July 24th, 2012

Jake Epping, a teacher in a small Maine community, is shown the portal for going back in time by a terminally ill man. Before the man dies, he convinces Jake to try and stop Lee Harvey Oswald from assassinating President Kennedy in Dallas. This is a Stephen King book, however, and there are unseen forces that do not want the past tampered with. 11/22/63 is compulsively readable, well-researched, and often exciting. Mr. King not only poses the question of what someone might do if he could stop a crime that altered history, he speculates on what America might have been like if Kennedy had escaped unharmed. ~ Reviewed by Alden Graves


Ghosts by Gaslight

Staff Pick Badge
Ghosts by Gaslight: Stories of Steampunk and Supernatural Suspense Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9780061999710
Availability: Special Order
Published: Harper Voyager - September 6th, 2011

Fans of both Horror and Steampunk will enjoy this chilling collection of Victorian and Edwardian era ghost stories. ~ Review by Sarah Donner


The Stand by Stephen King - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
The Stand Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780307743688
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Anchor - June 28th, 2011

The forces of good and evil face off in a post-apocalyptic America. The human race must contend with a deadly plague Satan's anointed one on Earth, and an ultra-violent public television show. A great read!


The Gore

Staff Pick Badge
The Gore Cover Image
$18.95
ISBN: 9781584650539
Availability: Special Order
Published: University Press of New England - August 1st, 2000

All of Joe Citro's books have unnerved me, but none so much as "The Gore". Something is in the forest. Something ancient. And it's been disturbed.

"Don't ever take a fence down until you know the reason it was put up". ~ G.K Chesterton

~ Reviewed by Sarah Donner


Full Dark, No Stars

Staff Pick Badge
Full Dark, No Stars: Stories Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9781439192603
Availability: Hard to Find - May no longer be available
Published: Pocket Books - September 20th, 2011

A monsterless and subtly different kind of excursion into the blacker (and bleaker) side of life. Comprised of four stories, each one of them concerned with the duplicitous nature of the human psyche. The individual tales are all graphic, chilling, and, even Mr. King admits, unpleasant, but just try to put the book down when you get caught up in one of them. ~ Reviewed by Alden Graves


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Horror
Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Daily 10pm-6pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990
Daily 10pm-6pm
Directions to Saratoga Springs