Fiction

When Ghosts Come Home: A Novel by Wiley Cash - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
When Ghosts Come Home: A Novel Cover Image
$28.99
ISBN: 9780062312662
Availability: Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: William Morrow - September 21st, 2021

Sheriff Winston Barnes and his wife are awakened in the middle of the night by the roar of a plane flying very low over their home. When he arrives at the local airport to investigate a possible crash, the sheriff finds a damaged and abandoned World War II era plane at the far end of the short runway and the body of a young Black man lying nearby. The puzzling incident begins to stir the embers of racial tension in the North Carolina coastal town, where Barnes is facing a tough reelection battle against an arrogant, well-connected, and unapologetic bigot, who is determined to use the power of the office to further his ambitious plans for the area. The author combines a compelling mystery with observations about the insidious nature of prejudice and how easily it can distort truth, instill fear, and be accepted as a way of life. ~ Reviewed by Alden Graves


Ironweed by William Kennedy - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Ironweed Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780140070200
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Penguin Books - February 7th, 1984

The story of Francis Phelan, a bum in depression-era Albany, by turns profound, funny, startling, and gorgeous, stands with Huckleberry Finn, The Great Gatsby, and The Sound and the Fury in the pantheon of great American literature. ~ Reviewed by Mike Hare


Raft of Stars: A Novel by Andrew J. Graff - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Raft of Stars: A Novel Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9780063031906
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Ecco - March 23rd, 2021

For fans of Jane Smiley or William Kent Krueger, this is a remarkable and thrilling adventure tale with great heart and well developed characters you will come to care about. Fish and Bread,10-year-old best friends, believe that they have committed a murder and run away deep into the northern Wisconsin woods where they construct a raft and start a terrifying voyage downriver. Four adults track them into the woods hoping to find and save them. Not only is this full of danger and excitement, it is a heartrending story of loss,of hope and of friendship. I did not want to put it down! ~ Reviewed by Tambra Johnson Reap


The Betrayals: A Novel by Bridget Collins - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
The Betrayals: A Novel Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780062838124
Availability: Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: William Morrow - May 18th, 2021

Collins' new novel does not disappoint, lovers of The Binding fear not! She paces and builds a storyline with such perfect timing it's an absolute joy to read, and also delivers a punch to the stomach with all the emotions. Prepare to be fully immersed in this unique world, and fall in love with the main characters so completely. One to be savored. ~ Reviewed by Becky Doherty


Apeirogon: A Novel by Colum McCann - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Apeirogon: A Novel Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780812981933
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Random House Trade - February 2nd, 2021

This is a heartrending work of not-quite-fiction, following the stories of Rami Elhanan, an Israeli, and Bassam Aramin, a Palestinian, each of whom lost a daughter to the conflict between their peoples. Told in 1001 short cantos, jumping through time, space, and theme with breathtaking flexibility, Apeirogon challenges the definition of a novel, the line between fact and fiction, the purpose of war. The story of Rami and Bassam is an incontrovertible argument for peace, and demands to be heard. ~ Reviewed by Digby Baker-Porazinski


The Midnight Library: A Novel by Matt Haig - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
The Midnight Library: A Novel Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780525559474
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Viking - September 29th, 2020

When the clock strikes midnight, magical things happen in a strange library, where books, and time, are unbound by unfettered possibility and imagination. ~ Reviewed by Mike Hare


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Fiction
Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Daily 10am-6pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990
Daily 10am-6pm
Directions to Saratoga Springs