Fantasy

Recipes from the World of Tolkien: Inspired by the Legends (Literary Cookbooks) by Robert Tuesley Anderson - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Recipes from the World of Tolkien: Inspired by the Legends (Literary Cookbooks) By Robert Tuesley Anderson Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781645174424
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Thunder Bay Press - October 13th, 2020

These recipes are delicious! Filled with simple, easy-to-follow instructions and made with easy-to-find or easy-to-substitute ingredients, these recipes can satisfy any palate and diet. Whether you want to feast like a hobbit of the Shire or snack like a traveler of Middle Earth or just really want to make Second Breakfast, this cookbook covers it all. ~ Reviewed by Hannah Odasz


The Death of Jane Lawrence: A Novel by Caitlin Starling - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
The Death of Jane Lawrence: A Novel By Caitlin Starling Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250272584
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: St. Martin's Press - October 5th, 2021

The Death of Jane Lawrence is a gothic novel teeming with ghosts, body horror, and unexpected twists, all leading up to a mind-bending conclusion. It is perfect for fans of The Haunting of Hill House, both the book and the show, or anyone who is looking for a story that will shock you to your core. ~ Reviewed by Cassidy Washburn


A Marvellous Light (The Last Binding #1) by Freya Marske - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
A Marvellous Light (The Last Binding #1) By Freya Marske Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250788870
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Tordotcom - November 2nd, 2021

This is a delightful confection of a book. Robin Blyth is just trying to figure out a stuffy life on the edges of the Edwardian aristocracy, when a dead-end bureaucratic job leads him to a hidden world of magic, curses, danger and romance with his put-upon magical liaison, Edward Courcey. ~ Reviewed by Rachel Person


Sistersong by Lucy Holland - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Sistersong By Lucy Holland Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780316320771
Availability: IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 3-7 Business Days
Published: Redhook - October 5th, 2021

If you are in need of otherworldliness, this is the book for you. This earthy mystical interpretation of Arthurian/ Merlin myth rises above so many of the other mythological retellings out there by its wonderful blending of myth and historical details and characters. Sistersong has one of the most satisfying, twisty endings I've read in a long time. Highly recommended. ~ Reviewed by Maeve Noonan


Tales from the Cafe by Toshikazu Kawaguchi - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Tales from the Cafe By Toshikazu Kawaguchi Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781335630988
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Hanover Square Press - October 12th, 2021

A winsome blend of reality and the supernatural, head and heart, and the present and the past. These elegant, interconnected tales nimbly and unexpectedly impart emotional satisfaction that lingers long after the cafe's coffee gets cold. ~ Reviewed by Mike Hare


The Orphan Witch: A Novel by Paige Crutcher - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
The Orphan Witch: A Novel By Paige Crutcher Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781250797377
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: St. Martin's Griffin - September 28th, 2021

Abandoned at a young age and dragged through the foster care system, Persephone May has only ever desired a place to call home. After a transformative moment in her work place, Persephone abandons her life to join a friend on the mysterious island of Wile Isle. There, Persephone is met by four women who call themselves her family, an ancient feud, and a dark curse that threatens them all. The Orphan Witch is a magical novel that examines the role of family and love in an individual's life, and whether or not those are enough to bestow a true sense of freedom. ~ Reviewed by Cassidy Washburn


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Fantasy