Fantasy

The House in the Cerulean Sea by TJ Klune - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
The House in the Cerulean Sea By TJ Klune Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250217318
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Tor Books - December 29th, 2020

A heartwarming, laugh out loud, adorable tale of a cautiously anxious social worker, an orphanage head, and all their mischievous magical children. Linus is a highly relatable character working a drab, strict office job with a bit of an Eeyore attitude. Enter Arthur to become his ray of sunshine and hope in the world. Linus goes through a bright development and learns how to go off book thanks to the inhabitants of Marsyas Island. This is the perfect book to read when you’re needing some light in your life. ~ Reviewed by Jules Wagner


The Last Graduate: A Novel (The Scholomance #2) by Naomi Novik - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
The Last Graduate: A Novel (The Scholomance #2) By Naomi Novik Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780593128862
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Del Rey - September 28th, 2021

Novik certainly begins this novel, the sequel to A Deadly Education, running and you’ll be turning the pages as quick to keep up as the action reaches fever pitch. We revisit El, Orion and the other students at the Scholomance in their final year of school as they are hurtling toward graduation, which in past years has proved to be quite deadly for a high percentage of them. However, El has a plan forming, and it means throwing out all the rules, will she get the others to go along with her, or plot against her? Novik has created the most satisfying kick-ass wizard-school world, so open it up and breathe it in! ~ Reviewed by Becky Doherty


The House in the Cerulean Sea by TJ Klune - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
The House in the Cerulean Sea By TJ Klune Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250217318
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Tor Books - December 29th, 2020

Do you want to read something that is light hearted, sweet, and charming? Then look no further! In this uplifting story, Linus Baker, a caseworker who lives by-the-book is assigned a particularly unusual case to investigate an isolated orphanage which houses “dangerous” children. It is looked after by a peculiar man named Arthur Parnassus. But things rarely go as outlined in his trusty guidebook, and what emerges is a beautiful story teaching us to accept and love ourselves, believe in hope, and fight for what is right. ⁣⁣⁣
⁣⁣⁣I absolutely loved this one! Highly recommend. ~ Reviewed by Angela Turon


Good Omens: The Nice and Accurate Prophecies of Agnes Nutter, Witch by Neil Gaiman and Terry Pratchett - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Good Omens: The Nice and Accurate Prophecies of Agnes Nutter, Witch By Neil Gaiman, Terry Pratchett Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780060853976
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: William Morrow Paperbacks - August 7th, 2007

An exciting collaboration between two prolific fantasy writers, Good Omens tells the story of an uptight angel and a smooth-talking demon who team up to find the antichrist, an 11-year-old boy living in the English countryside, and stop the fast approaching Armageddon. ~ Reviewed by Samantha Beitler


Empire of the Vampire by Jay Kristoff - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Empire of the Vampire By Jay Kristoff, Bon Orthwick (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Jay Kristoff, Bon Orthwick (Illustrator)
$29.99
ISBN: 9781250245281
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: St. Martin's Press - September 14th, 2021

Empire Of The Vampire pulls you head-first into a world filled with murderous vampires and their saintly slayers. It chronicles the life of one such slayer, Gabriel de León, the Last of the Silversaints. With plenty of bloody fight scenes and gory details, this novel is not for the faint of heart. It is dark and gritty; a brutal masterpiece perfect for fans of Patrick Rothfuss’s, The Name of the Wind. ~ Reviewed by Cassidy Washburn


A Spindle Splintered (Fractured Fables) by Alix E. Harrow - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
A Spindle Splintered (Fractured Fables) By Alix E. Harrow Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250765352
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Tordotcom - October 5th, 2021

A Spindle Splintered is a lovely tale that pulls you into the multiverse of fairy tales. It is fast-paced and unique featuring beautiful illustrations. This novella follows Zinnia, a young woman with a rare illness, who has always thought of herself as a “sleeping beauty,” cursed to a horrible fate. She knows that her twenty-first birthday will be her last so when her best friend throws her a party complete with a tower and spinning wheel, Zinnia makes the most of it. But when she pricks her finger, she is suddenly thrown into another world, one with its own sleeping beauty who is desperate to escape her fate. What follows is an engaging story of courage and friendship, one you won’t want to miss. ~ Reviewed by Cassidy Washburn


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Fantasy