Fantasy

Swashbucklers by Dan Hanks - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Swashbucklers By Dan Hanks Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9780857669384
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Angry Robot - November 9th, 2021

Part fantasy, part adventure, part horror, and a lot of humor cover the pages of this novel. Our hero (question mark) Cisco comes back to his hometown 30-odd years after that Halloween and the "gas leak" which he knows was not any old gas leak. In fact, it was not a gas leak at all, but a dead ghost pirate hell bent on taking over the world. But nobody wants to believe him. Even his best friends from that time. But now their past has caught up with them again when a toy rabbit attacks and kills a man and seeing is believing. Even if the seeing shows talking gnomes, killer stuffed toys and a blow-up Father Christmas attacking the center of the city. Now Cisco and friends (30 years older, parents, and having to do the school runs) are told by a talking fox of all things, they are chosen to fight again. Cisco is all ready to save the world from impending doom. That is, if he has some warning so he can find a babysitter. ~ Reviewed by Jeanette


The Chosen and the Beautiful by Nghi Vo - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
The Chosen and the Beautiful By Nghi Vo Cover Image
By Nghi Vo
$26.99
ISBN: 9781250784780
Availability: IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 3-7 Business Days
Published: Tordotcom - June 1st, 2021

A fresh new take on a beloved classic, The Chosen and the Beautiful follows Jordan Baker, a queer Vietnamese immigrant, as she navigates the dazzling society of the 1920's. It is a coming of age story filled with magic, mystery, and exclusive parties. With its rich prose and beautiful imagery, this is the perfect read for fans of the original source material, The Great Gatsby, and new readers alike. ~ Reviewed by Cassidy Washburn


Slewfoot: A Tale of Bewitchery by Brom - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Slewfoot: A Tale of Bewitchery By Brom Cover Image
By Brom
$29.99
ISBN: 9781250622006
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Tor Nightfire - September 14th, 2021

The story begins with the awakening of an unknown creature in the woods, and a mail order bride from London on her way to church with her Puritan husband. Abitha is the daughter of a "cunning woman" struggling to acclimate to the Puritan way of life. The people of the village purchase her charms and medicinal balms, but hate her for her ungodly ways. When Abitha's loving husband dies, she finds a loophole in the law that allows her to keep her land, but her brother-in-law accuses her of witchcraft to get her out of the way. What none of the village understands is that she has befriended the creature in the forest and the nature spirits don't take kindly to the torture of their favorite human. Revenge and mayhem ensue. This book ends exactly how I wish every witch trial in real life could have ended! ~ Reviewed by Misty Henrichsen


Recipes from the World of Tolkien: Inspired by the Legends (Literary Cookbooks) by Robert Tuesley Anderson - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Recipes from the World of Tolkien: Inspired by the Legends (Literary Cookbooks) By Robert Tuesley Anderson Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781645174424
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Thunder Bay Press - October 13th, 2020

These recipes are delicious! Filled with simple, easy-to-follow instructions and made with easy-to-find or easy-to-substitute ingredients, these recipes can satisfy any palate and diet. Whether you want to feast like a hobbit of the Shire or snack like a traveler of Middle Earth or just really want to make Second Breakfast, this cookbook covers it all. ~ Reviewed by Hannah Odasz


The Death of Jane Lawrence: A Novel by Caitlin Starling - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
The Death of Jane Lawrence: A Novel By Caitlin Starling Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250272584
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: St. Martin's Press - October 5th, 2021

The Death of Jane Lawrence is a gothic novel teeming with ghosts, body horror, and unexpected twists, all leading up to a mind-bending conclusion. It is perfect for fans of The Haunting of Hill House, both the book and the show, or anyone who is looking for a story that will shock you to your core. ~ Reviewed by Cassidy Washburn


A Marvellous Light (The Last Binding #1) by Freya Marske - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
A Marvellous Light (The Last Binding #1) By Freya Marske Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250788870
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Tordotcom - November 2nd, 2021

This is a delightful confection of a book. Robin Blyth is just trying to figure out a stuffy life on the edges of the Edwardian aristocracy, when a dead-end bureaucratic job leads him to a hidden world of magic, curses, danger and romance with his put-upon magical liaison, Edward Courcey. ~ Reviewed by Rachel Person


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Fantasy