Fantasy

When Women Were Dragons: A Novel by Kelly Barnhill - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
When Women Were Dragons: A Novel By Kelly Barnhill Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780385548229
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Doubleday - May 3rd, 2022

This gorgeous heartbreak and joy of a novel follows a young girl in the aftermath of the Mass Dragoning of 1955 - a single day in which more than 600,000 American women shed their skins to become dragons. This is an incredible exploration of the dangers of suppressing trauma - and the power of women's anger. ~ Reviewed by Rachel Person


A Restless Truth (The Last Binding #2) by Freya Marske - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
A Restless Truth (The Last Binding #2) By Freya Marske Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250788917
Availability: Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Tordotcom - November 1st, 2022

This book excels at being everything the second book in a trilogy needs to be. I like the setting of a sea voyage, a finite space of time wherein to advance the narrative, and as always the author has some interesting characters, twists and turns in store for us within that space. ~ Reviewed by Arabella Peterson


A Restless Truth (The Last Binding #2) by Freya Marske - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
A Restless Truth (The Last Binding #2) By Freya Marske Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250788917
Availability: Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Tordotcom - November 1st, 2022

This book has it all - magic, mayhem, murder, and queer romance - all set within the confines of a luxurious early 1900s ocean crossing. Marske has managed to match - or even top - the sheer joy contained in her debut, A Marvellous Light.


Thistlefoot: A Novel by GennaRose Nethercott - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Thistlefoot: A Novel By GennaRose Nethercott Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780593468838
Availability: Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Anchor - September 13th, 2022

What happens when you cross Yiddish folktales, modern fantasy and a meditation on intergenerational trauma? Alchemical magic. Estranged siblings Isaac and Bellantine Yaga have inherited a sentient house on chicken feet from a long-lost ancestor in eastern Europe - but along with the house comes a shadowy villain bent on destroying it and the modern diverse world in which they live. I'll be thinking about this one for a long time to come. ~ Reviewed by Rachel Person


Piranesi by Susanna Clarke - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Piranesi By Susanna Clarke Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781635577808
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Bloomsbury Publishing - September 28th, 2021

This is a wonderful book. Piranesi is so endearing and completely lovely and I will be returning to his story and his world many times. This story is absolutely masterful, beautifully strange and unusual, and I already want to read it again. ~ Reviewed by Arabella Peterson


The Book of Gothel by Mary McMyne - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
The Book of Gothel By Mary McMyne Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780316393119
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Redhook - July 26th, 2022

The Book of Gothel is a beautifully written fairytale that retells the classic story of Rapunzel, but from the point of view of "Mother Gothel." Instead of being a villain origin story, the reader can expect a well researched novel brimming with religion, magic, and female empowerment set during medieval times. This was an unexpected delight, perfect for fans of Circe and Wicked. ~ Reviewed by Cassidy Washburn


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Fantasy