Fantasy

The Book of Dust: La Belle Sauvage (Book of Dust, Volume 1) by Philip Pullman - Book Review

Staff Pick Logo
The Book of Dust: La Belle Sauvage (Book of Dust, Volume 1) Cover Image
$22.99
ISBN: 9780375815300
Availability: Click Title for In Stock Location
Published: Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers - October 19th, 2017

Probably my favorite fantasy book of 2017! Fans of His Dark Materials will not be disappointed, as it is classic Pullman which captures the feel of the original trilogy, even after 17 years. In the first of three volumes we meet an infant Lyra and her ever-changing dæmon Pantalaimon, and are introduced to the curious and steadfast Malcolm Polstead, who finds himself forced to protect Lyra from the many threats she faces throughout the book. Floods, disgusting villains (and their terrifying daemons!) and heroic characters abound...with the tension climbing faster and faster toward a dark and brutal climax. I was devastated to have to leave this world of daemons, alethiometer and an alternate Oxford...and wait longingly for the next installment. ~ Reviewed by Tambra Johnson Reap


Creatures of Will and Temper by Molly Tanzer - Book Review

Staff Pick Logo
Creatures of Will and Temper Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781328710260
Availability: Click Title for In Stock Location
Published: John Joseph Adams/Houghton Mifflin Harcourt - November 14th, 2017

Feuding sisters come to London and experience swordplay, odd Victorian societies, and demons. As the sisters navigate mazes of intrigue and duplicity, they must decide whether the demons are evil, or their means of deliverance. ~ Reviewed by Mike Hare


Midnight Riot by Ben Aaronovitch - Book Review

Staff Pick Logo
Midnight Riot Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780345524256
Availability: Click Title for In Stock Location
Published: Del Rey Books - February 1st, 2011

London Constable Peter Grant is a grounded, scientifically minded, dependable officer of the law, which is why interviewing a witness to a murder didn't shake him. What did shake him was realizing the witness was a ghost. You just can't put that down on a form... Wonderful combination of wise-cracking British humor, good old-fashioned detective work, and magic, this series of stand alone novels will be a new favorite for fans of Dresden Files and Doctor Who. ~ Reviewed by Leah Moore


The City of Brass by S. A. Chakraborty - Book Review

Staff Pick Logo
The City of Brass Cover Image
$25.99
ISBN: 9780062678102
Availability: Click Title for In Stock Location
Published: Voyager - November 14th, 2017

This is a beautiful, complex first book in a new fantasy trilogy rich with the feel of Middle Eastern folklore. It is a breathless adventure, part human - part fantasy, through 19th century Egypt, Turkey and the Arabian peninsula. There are humans, djinn, demons and a brass city protected by magic. The author painstakingly develops a complex world view with richly developed characters and conflicts. You will be drawn thoroughly into this world, and left clamoring for the next installment. Brilliant! ~ Reviewed by Tambra Johnson Reap


Reincarnation Blues by Michael Poore - Book Review

Staff Pick Logo
Reincarnation Blues Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780399178481
Availability: Click Title for In Stock Location
Published: Del Rey Books - August 22nd, 2017

Meet Milo, a human soul who's lived nearly 10,000 lives, and has 5 more chances to get it right before he's forced to walk the metaphorical plank into Nothingness. Meet Suzie, aka Death, who is sick of being Death, and would rather quit her job and open up a candle shop. Milo and Suzie are in love. Milo is considered a great soul, a wise soul, a soul who has been around the block a time or two... or ten thousand. Milo isn't nearly as interested in Perfection—his supposed goal— as he is with Suzie and the time in-between lives he gets to spend with her. In a book where deaths outnumber the page count, I was surprised to find quirky being one of my first ways of describing Poore's work. Reincarnation Blues achieves capital p Perfection. ~ Reviewed by Hanna Yost


It Devours!: A Welcome to Night Vale Novel by Joseph Fink - Book Review

Staff Pick Logo
It Devours!: A Welcome to Night Vale Novel Cover Image
$21.99
ISBN: 9780062476050
Availability: Click Title for In Stock Location
Published: Harper Perennial - October 17th, 2017

All hail the smiling god! Narrated with an absurdist wit, this tale--based on the famous Welcome to Night Vale Podcast--finds mystery right at the center where science and faith collide. Places and people all around the strange town of Night Vale begin to disappear into the earth, leaving large holes in their place that lead to. . . . a weird hoax? A new scientific discovery? Or the smiling god? With laughs and intrigue on every page--no joke--this town and its many diverse characters will have you begging to revisit this surrealist wonderland over and over again. ~ Reviewed by Alex Bell


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Fantasy
Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Saratoga Springs