Fantasy

The Last Graduate: A Novel (The Scholomance #2) by Naomi Novik - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
The Last Graduate: A Novel (The Scholomance #2) Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780593128862
Availability: Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Del Rey - September 28th, 2021

Novik certainly begins this novel, the sequel to A Deadly Education, running and you’ll be turning the pages as quick to keep up as the action reaches fever pitch. We revisit El, Orion and the other students at the Scholomance in their final year of school as they are hurtling toward graduation, which in past years has proved to be quite deadly for a high percentage of them. However, El has a plan forming, and it means throwing out all the rules, will she get the others to go along with her, or plot against her? Novik has created the most satisfying kick-ass wizard-school world, so open it up and breathe it in! ~ Reviewed by Becky Doherty


The House in the Cerulean Sea by TJ Klune - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
The House in the Cerulean Sea Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250217318
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Tor Books - December 29th, 2020

Do you want to read something that is light hearted, sweet, and charming? Then look no further! In this uplifting story, Linus Baker, a caseworker who lives by-the-book is assigned a particularly unusual case to investigate an isolated orphanage which houses “dangerous” children. It is looked after by a peculiar man named Arthur Parnassus. But things rarely go as outlined in his trusty guidebook, and what emerges is a beautiful story teaching us to accept and love ourselves, believe in hope, and fight for what is right. ⁣⁣⁣
⁣⁣⁣I absolutely loved this one! Highly recommend. ~ Reviewed by Angela Turon


Good Omens: The Nice and Accurate Prophecies of Agnes Nutter, Witch by Neil Gaiman and Terry Pratchett - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Good Omens: The Nice and Accurate Prophecies of Agnes Nutter, Witch Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780060853976
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: William Morrow Paperbacks - August 7th, 2007

An exciting collaboration between two prolific fantasy writers, Good Omens tells the story of an uptight angel and a smooth-talking demon who team up to find the antichrist, an 11-year-old boy living in the English countryside, and stop the fast approaching Armageddon. ~ Reviewed by Samantha Beitler


Empire of the Vampire by Jay Kristoff - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Empire of the Vampire Cover Image
By Jay Kristoff, Bon Orthwick (Illustrator)
$29.99
ISBN: 9781250245281
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: St. Martin's Press - September 14th, 2021

Empire Of The Vampire pulls you head-first into a world filled with murderous vampires and their saintly slayers. It chronicles the life of one such slayer, Gabriel de León, the Last of the Silversaints. With plenty of bloody fight scenes and gory details, this novel is not for the faint of heart. It is dark and gritty; a brutal masterpiece perfect for fans of Patrick Rothfuss’s, The Name of the Wind. ~ Reviewed by Cassidy Washburn


A Spindle Splintered (Fractured Fables) by Alix E. Harrow - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
A Spindle Splintered (Fractured Fables) Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250765352
Availability: Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Tordotcom - October 5th, 2021

A Spindle Splintered is a lovely tale that pulls you into the multiverse of fairy tales. It is fast-paced and unique featuring beautiful illustrations. This novella follows Zinnia, a young woman with a rare illness, who has always thought of herself as a “sleeping beauty,” cursed to a horrible fate. She knows that her twenty-first birthday will be her last so when her best friend throws her a party complete with a tower and spinning wheel, Zinnia makes the most of it. But when she pricks her finger, she is suddenly thrown into another world, one with its own sleeping beauty who is desperate to escape her fate. What follows is an engaging story of courage and friendship, one you won’t want to miss. ~ Reviewed by Cassidy Washburn


Under the Whispering Door by TJ Klune - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Under the Whispering Door Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781250217349
Availability: Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Tor Books - September 21st, 2021

This book has my heart! TJ Klune does it again, with another comforting hug of a novel. Writing into life characters that will become like friends, this is a tale that will stay with you long after you've finished reading. At its heart, it's about death and grief, but it also has many lessons on how to live well. Oh, if only we could live in a Klune-imagined world! ~ Reviewed by Becky Doherty


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Fantasy