Fantasy

Midnight Riot by Ben Aaronovitch - Book Review

Staff Pick Logo
Midnight Riot Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780345524256
Availability: In Stock, Click Title for Location
Published: Del Rey Books - February 1st, 2011

London Constable Peter Grant is a grounded, scientifically minded, dependable officer of the law, which is why interviewing a witness to a murder didn't shake him. What did shake him was realizing the witness was a ghost. You just can't put that down on a form... Wonderful combination of wise-cracking British humor, good old-fashioned detective work, and magic, this series of stand alone novels will be a new favorite for fans of Dresden Files and Doctor Who. ~ Reviewed by Leah Moore


The City of Brass by S. A. Chakraborty - Book Review

Staff Pick Logo
The City of Brass Cover Image
$25.99
ISBN: 9780062678102
Availability: In Stock, Click Title for Location
Published: Voyager - November 14th, 2017

This is a beautiful, complex first book in a new fantasy trilogy rich with the feel of Middle Eastern folklore. It is a breathless adventure, part human - part fantasy, through 19th century Egypt, Turkey and the Arabian peninsula. There are humans, djinn, demons and a brass city protected by magic. The author painstakingly develops a complex world view with richly developed characters and conflicts. You will be drawn thoroughly into this world, and left clamoring for the next installment. Brilliant! ~ Reviewed by Tambra Johnson Reap


Reincarnation Blues by Michael Poore - Book Review

Staff Pick Logo
Reincarnation Blues Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780399178481
Availability: In Stock, Click Title for Location
Published: Del Rey Books - August 22nd, 2017

Meet Milo, a human soul who's lived nearly 10,000 lives, and has 5 more chances to get it right before he's forced to walk the metaphorical plank into Nothingness. Meet Suzie, aka Death, who is sick of being Death, and would rather quit her job and open up a candle shop. Milo and Suzie are in love. Milo is considered a great soul, a wise soul, a soul who has been around the block a time or two... or ten thousand. Milo isn't nearly as interested in Perfection—his supposed goal— as he is with Suzie and the time in-between lives he gets to spend with her. In a book where deaths outnumber the page count, I was surprised to find quirky being one of my first ways of describing Poore's work. Reincarnation Blues achieves capital p Perfection. ~ Reviewed by Hanna Yost


It Devours!: A Welcome to Night Vale Novel by Joseph Fink - Book Review

Staff Pick Logo
It Devours!: A Welcome to Night Vale Novel Cover Image
$21.99
ISBN: 9780062476050
Availability: In Stock, Click Title for Location
Published: Harper Perennial - October 17th, 2017

All hail the smiling god! Narrated with an absurdist wit, this tale--based on the famous Welcome to Night Vale Podcast--finds mystery right at the center where science and faith collide. Places and people all around the strange town of Night Vale begin to disappear into the earth, leaving large holes in their place that lead to. . . . a weird hoax? A new scientific discovery? Or the smiling god? With laughs and intrigue on every page--no joke--this town and its many diverse characters will have you begging to revisit this surrealist wonderland over and over again. ~ Reviewed by Alex Bell


Mem by Bethany C. Morrow - Book Review

Staff Pick Logo
Mem Cover Image
$25.00
ISBN: 9781944700553
Availability: Not Yet Published
Published: Unnamed Press - May 22nd, 2018

MEM is a mind bending exploration of what it means to be human. In this tight, gripping novel doctors have the ability to extract people's traumatic memories. These memories become people, sort of... Or maybe not. And what happens to the people who abuse the procedure? How do our memories shape our lives? MEM is a great read, especially for those interested in the ethics and strange reality of how new technologies impact the human condition. ~ Reviewed by Chris Morrow


The Call of Cthulhu and Other Weird Stories by H. P. Lovecraft - Book Review

Staff Pick Logo
The Call of Cthulhu and Other Weird Stories Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780143129455
Availability: In Stock, Click Title for Location
Published: Penguin Books - October 18th, 2016

No one writes quite like Lovecraft. First he describes the lore, and then he delivers the horror. You can't go wrong with any of these stories, especially Cthulhu and my personal favorite, The Whisperer in Darkness. ~ Reviewed by Alex Bell


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Fantasy
Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Saratoga Springs