Fantasy

The Lies of the Ajungo (The Forever Desert #1) by Moses Ose Utomi - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
The Lies of the Ajungo (The Forever Desert #1) By Moses Ose Utomi Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781250849069
Availability: Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Tordotcom - March 21st, 2023

Utomi's writing is captivating, and I wanted to sit and read until I had read the whole thing. In a city without tongues, who is there to spread their experiences beyond the city walls? A severe hundred-year lack of water drives a young boy to head into the desert in search of water, mere days before he turns thirteen and has his tongue cut out. For the Ajungo provides his city with barely enough water to survive, in exchange for the tongues of all the citizens. A really interesting and engaging read that makes you think about who is telling what stories and controlling resources. ~ Reviewed by Isabel Long


The Priory of the Orange Tree (The Roots of Chaos) by Samantha Shannon - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
The Priory of the Orange Tree (The Roots of Chaos) By Samantha Shannon Cover Image
$20.00
ISBN: 9781635570304
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Bloomsbury Publishing - February 18th, 2020

I read this book in 5 days and it was incredible! 804 pages couldn't stop me from absolutely demolishing this book in less than a week. The storytelling, world-building, and gorgeous imagery had me taken to a world so unlike our own. Dragons either fight for good to protect the world or evil to destroy everyone and anything in their path. Enter "The Priory" responsible for training elite warriors to fight alongside the dragons and save humanity. UGH! I am so in love I just want to read it all over again! ~ Reviewed by Kylie Thalheimer


The Golden Enclaves: A Novel (The Scholomance #3) by Naomi Novik - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
The Golden Enclaves: A Novel (The Scholomance #3) By Naomi Novik Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780593158357
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Del Rey - September 27th, 2022

Fans of Novik's dark and brilliant Scholomance series will not want to miss this breathtaking conclusion to the trilogy. A satisfying thrill-packed roller coaster ride of a narrative overlays a serious reckoning with the moral underpinnings of the so-called good life. New readers of the series should start with the Last Graduate, and prepare to be blown away. ~ Reviewed by Rachel Person


Babel: Or the Necessity of Violence: An Arcane History of the Oxford Translators' Revolution by R. F. Kuang - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Babel: Or the Necessity of Violence: An Arcane History of the Oxford Translators' Revolution By R. F. Kuang Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780063021426
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Harper Voyager - August 23rd, 2022

This book is a powerful, beautifully written examination of colonialism and empire. Here, translation has the ability to be magical, with the meaning lost in translation manifested by silver. A stunning story of friendship, identity, Babel captured me with its characters, academic intrigue, and thoughtful attention to the exploitation of people and resources inherent in an empire, specifically the British empire. A must read. ~ Reviewed by Isabel Long


A Promise of Fire (The Kingmaker Chronicles) by Amanda Bouchet - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
A Promise of Fire (The Kingmaker Chronicles) By Amanda Bouchet Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9781728251134
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Sourcebooks Casablanca - April 5th, 2022

Looking for a new fantasy romance to consume your heart, body, and soul? This is the one for you! A Promise of Fire is a slow burn, enemies to lovers romance with plenty of magic, action, and found family elements to keep you reading late into the night. A must read for fans of Sarah J. Maas and Scarlett St. Clair. ~ Reviewed by Cassidy Washburn


Under the Whispering Door by TJ Klune - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Under the Whispering Door By TJ Klune Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250217349
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Tor Books - September 21st, 2021

Wallace is an unpleasant, career-focused lawyer. When he dies in the office, he is horrified that his funeral is poorly attended and his passing is unlamented. Taken by a reaper, May, to a ferryman, Hugo, Wallace has the time, space, support, and tea to confront who he was and who he wants to be. Oh, and he needs to figure out how the whole being-being-dead-thing works (he really does not want to be eternally stuck in flip-flops!). In crafting this gorgeous exploration of life, death, found family, and love, Klune has solidified himself as one of my all-time favorites, and this book as an absolute must-read. Plus, the ghost dog is adorable. ~ Reviewed by Isabel Long


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Fantasy