Children - Graphic Novels

Just Pretend by Tori Sharp - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Just Pretend Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780316538855
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - May 18th, 2021

A fresh, yet familiar, friendship story that is tenderly written. This memoir graphic novel is realistic and relatable as we follow Tori during the events of middle school, issues with friends, the problems that arise when her parents’ divorce, and sibling interactions. To try and find something to hold onto, to balance her through this, Tori finds solace in writing and illustrating her own book that mirror her own struggles and emotions. An author afterwards ties everything together nicely at the end. ~ Reviewed by Jeanette


Secrets of Camp Whatever Vol. 1 by Chris Grine - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Secrets of Camp Whatever Vol. 1 Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781620108628
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Oni Press - March 30th, 2021

An adorable coming of age with lots of humor, diverse characters that are relatable, and full of surprises is the best way to describe this fun graphic novel. Monsters, adventures, and snacks come together when Willow and her new friends are sent to a creepy, but cool, summer camp. Willow does not want to move to this spooky town or go to this spooky camp. However, once she gets there (having to get past weird clowns, a bully, and the fog) she learns that there are secrets around every corner. This is not your dad's summer camp (even if Willow’s dad went) and this year they promise no campers will go missing (again). Adventure awaits! Just watch out for fog leeches. ~ Reviewed by Jeanette


Manu: A Graphic Novel by Kelly Fernández - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Manu: A Graphic Novel Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781338264180
Availability: Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Graphix - November 2nd, 2021

At a school for magical girls, Manu finds herself (once again) in trouble by using a spell far beyond even her talents (which surpass any other students). It is up to Josephina (her best friend), the headmistress and the other students to stop the damage that has been caused when this spell goes more than a little bit messy and literally goes to the demons! Best friends, magic and religion mix for a fantastic, tastefully done, fantasy graphic novel. The themes, landscape and feeling of the novel itself is based in the author/illustrators Dominican and American heritage. This is a modern fairy/folk tale that combines classic story and new imagery. Ages 10 and up are the best audience, but younger people can read if they are not too sensitive of a reader as there are some fantasy adventure/situations. ~ Reviewed by Jeanette


Kitten Construction Company: Meet the House Kittens by John Patrick Green - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Kitten Construction Company: Meet the House Kittens Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9781250801937
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: First Second - May 11th, 2021

This early chapter book graphic novel is perfect for fans of Bunjitsu Bunny. A group of kittens can't find jobs in construction, so start their own company. Lots of silly sweetness follows! ~ Reviewed by Rachel Person


Sir Ladybug by Corey R. Tabor - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Sir Ladybug Cover Image
By Corey R. Tabor, Corey R. Tabor (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9780063069060
Availability: Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Balzer + Bray - March 29th, 2022

A funny story about friendship, cake, thinking things out, bravery and cake. When Sir Ladybug has their latest quest find them (instead of the other way around), it is an adventure that will take all their skills, the skills of their friends, and the best darn cake ever! Bad jokes, naughty birds (just trying to get a bite to eat) and great cake will have your child (and you) laughing, cheering, and learning the real meaning of bravery. ~ Reviewed by Jeanette


Measuring Up by Lily LaMotte - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Measuring Up Cover Image
By Lily LaMotte, Ann Xu (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9780062973863
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: HarperAlley - October 27th, 2020

When Cici moves from Taiwan to Seattle, she misses her grandma terribly. She wants A-ma to come visit, but plane tickets are too expensive. So, Cici decides to raise the money herself - by winning a kids' cooking competition. However, when she gets paired with a girl who only wants to cook French and Italian food, Cici isn't sure how to stand up for herself and her culture. This is a nuanced, successful look at how racist microagressions infiltrate the food world, from the white characters' assumption that Taiwanese and Chinese foods are the same, to noticing how, in America, white cultures' cuisines are commonly associated with fancy, expensive restaurants, but Asian foods are sidelined as cheap takeout. ~ Reviewed by Nadja Tiktinsky


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Children - Graphic Novels