Children - Graphic Novels

All Summer Long by Hope Larson - Book Review

Staff Pick Logo
All Summer Long Cover Image
By Hope Larson, Hope Larson (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9780374310714
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux (Byr) - May 1st, 2018

Best friends and summer days are the best combination, so when Austin tells Bina he's going to camp for a month, she knows this will be the most boring summer ever.
Bina fills her days with binge-watching and babysitting, until she accidentally makes friends with Austin's older sister, who turns out to like the same music! Maybe the summer can rock, even when your best friend won't text you back...
Relatable modern-life story with fun art and likable characters, great for reading by the pool! ~ Reviewed by Leah Moore


Estranged by Ethan M. Aldridge - Book Review

Staff Pick Logo
Estranged Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780062653864
Availability: Not Yet Published
Published: HarperCollins - August 7th, 2018

Edmund lives a normal life, but he is far from normal.
In fact, he isn't human - he is Fae, his parents, a King and Queen, stole a human child and left Edmund in the World Above. When that human boy appears on Edmund's street with news of betrayal and war, Edmund knows his life has changed forever, but he has to go down back to the World Below. He has to face Hawthorne, evil sorceress, and claim his place on the throne.
Fantastic art and strong story-telling make this an incredible graphic novel, sure to grab everyone who opens it. A stand-alone with hints at a sequel - hopefully! ~ Reviewed by Leah Moore


Anna and Froga: Completely Bubu by Drawn & Quarterly Firm - Book Review

Staff Pick Logo
Anna and Froga: Completely Bubu Cover Image
$19.95
ISBN: 9781770462922
Availability: Click Title for In Stock Location
Published: Drawn & Quarterly - September 26th, 2017

This graphic novel revolves around an unusual group of cutely drawn friends who get into all kinds of shenanigans together. Pranks, mischief, and sarcasm rule these short nonconsecutive comics. I think any sassy person age 8 & above would love this odd but charming book. ~ Reviewed by Laura Knapp


Brave by Svetlana Chmakova - Book Review

Staff Pick Logo
Brave Cover Image
$11.00
ISBN: 9780316363181
Availability: Click Title for In Stock Location
Published: Jy - May 23rd, 2017

As the the quirky & endearing standalone sequel to Awkward, you can now follow Jensen on his middle school journey as he faces the difficulties of bullying & making friends. This is an uplifting story that will give readers the courage to stand up for themselves. A diverse cast of characters will suck you into Jensen's world as you proudly root for him to succeed. ~ Reviewed by Laura Knapp


Suee and the Shadow by Ginger Ly - Book Review

Staff Pick Logo
Suee and the Shadow Cover Image
By Ginger Ly, Molly Park (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9781419725647
Availability: Click Title for In Stock Location
Published: Amulet Books - September 19th, 2017

Twelve-year-old Suee wears black, parts her hair differently, does not have friends in her new school and she likes it that way. Or does she? When she hears a strange voice in the dark, her life takes a twist she never expected. And her shadow takes on a life of its own! This new graphic novel mixes the issues of school, friendship, family and trying to fit in when all you do is stick out for one reason or another. Ages 10 up. ~ Reviewed by Jeanette


Awkward by Svetlana Chmakova - Book Review

Staff Pick Logo
Awkward Cover Image
$11.00
ISBN: 9780316381307
Availability: Click Title for In Stock Location
Published: Jy - July 21st, 2015

Fans of Smile and Roller Girl will love this graphic novel - great story and great art! Penelope is the new girl at school and right away things start off rocky...she pushes a boy over in the hall, when he was just trying to help her! She keeps trying to say sorry, but it's just too awkward - will she have to spend the rest of the school year hiding like a ninja whenever she sees him?! And now the Art Club, the only place she has friends, is in danger. The principle says they need to "contribute to school community" if they want to have a club next year! Can they save Art Club? Maybe with the help of their enemies, the Science Club, and that boy... if they can face the awkwardness of asking! ~ Reviewed by Leah Moore


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Children - Graphic Novels
Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Saratoga Springs