Children - Graphic Novels

Suee and the Shadow by Ginger Ly - Book Review

Staff Pick Logo
Suee and the Shadow Cover Image
By Ginger Ly, Molly Park (Illustrator), Keo Lee
$12.99
ISBN: 9781419725647
Availability: In Stock, Click Title for Location
Published: Amulet Books - September 19th, 2017

Twelve-year-old Suee wears black, parts her hair differently, does not have friends in her new school and she likes it that way. Or does she? When she hears a strange voice in the dark, her life takes a twist she never expected. And her shadow takes on a life of its own! This new graphic novel mixes the issues of school, friendship, family and trying to fit in when all you do is stick out for one reason or another. Ages 10 up. ~ Reviewed by Jeanette


Awkward by Svetlana Chmakova - Book Review

Staff Pick Logo
Awkward Cover Image
$11.00
ISBN: 9780316381307
Availability: In Stock, Click Title for Location
Published: Jy - July 21st, 2015

Fans of Smile and Roller Girl will love this graphic novel - great story and great art! Penelope is the new girl at school and right away things start off rocky...she pushes a boy over in the hall, when he was just trying to help her! She keeps trying to say sorry, but it's just too awkward - will she have to spend the rest of the school year hiding like a ninja whenever she sees him?! And now the Art Club, the only place she has friends, is in danger. The principle says they need to "contribute to school community" if they want to have a club next year! Can they save Art Club? Maybe with the help of their enemies, the Science Club, and that boy... if they can face the awkwardness of asking! ~ Reviewed by Leah Moore


Newsprints by Ru Xu - Book Review

Staff Pick Logo
Newsprints Cover Image
By Ru Xu
$12.99
ISBN: 9780545803120
Availability: In Stock, Click Title for Location
Published: Graphix - January 31st, 2017

Fans of Amulet series and Nameless City will love this new graphic novel!
Blue wanted normal day selling newspapers, but now she's running from rival gang of Newsboys, climbing up a fire escape and falling through a window into an inventors laboratory!
Who is this mysterious inventory? Do his inventions have anything to do with the war that's in all the newspaper headlines? You'll have to read this great graphic novel to find out! ~ Reviewed by Leah Moore


Nimona by Noelle Stevenson - Book Review

Staff Pick Logo
Nimona Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9780062278227
Availability: In Stock, Click Title for Location
Published: Harper Teen - May 12th, 2015

I started reading this book when it was still an online comic, and I waited impatiently for entire weeks just to read the next page!! Noelle Stevenson is a brilliant artist and storywriter, creating a many-layered story that gives something different to each person on each reading.
Nimona has everything: a great girl superhero, an amputee protagonist, humor and silliness for kids, darkness for bigger kids, magic, science, dragons, sharks, rhinos, cute kitties, mystery, rebellion - Nimona is my hero and I never get tired of this book, and neither will you. ~ Reviewed by Katelynne Shimkus


Tomboy: A Graphic Memoir by Liz Prince - Book Review

Staff Pick Logo
Tomboy: A Graphic Memoir Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9781936976553
Availability: Hard to Find
Published: Zest Books - September 2nd, 2014

Fans of Drama and Smile will love this graphic novel memoir! Follow Liz from K-12th grade, watch as she goes from happy Ghostbusting kid to an angsty comic-drawing teen! It's a long tough road full of bullies and self-discovery, of being forced to wear dressed and always called "tomboy".
Great read for kids 12+ (Liz's teen years have some some swearing and drugs mentioned), or adults who loved the graphic novel memoir Fun Home! ~ Reviewed by Leah Moore


Snow White: A Graphic Novel by Matt Phelan - Book Review

Staff Pick Logo
Snow White: A Graphic Novel Cover Image
By Matt Phelan, Matt Phelan (Illustrator)
$19.99
ISBN: 9780763672331
Availability: In Stock, Click Title for Location
Published: Candlewick Press (MA) - September 13th, 2016

This beautiful graphic novel re-telling of the Snow White story is set New York City of the roaring twenties and the great depression. Through gorgeous atmospheric art, perfectly chosen sparse text, and a well presented historical setting, the classic fairy tale is updated for a new generation. ~ Reviewed by Rachel Person


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Children - Graphic Novels
Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Saratoga Springs