Children Books

96 Miles by J. L. Esplin - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
96 Miles (The Kharkanas Trilogy #6) Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781250192301
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Starscape - February 11th, 2020

Two brothers embark on a perilous journey across 96 miles of desert toward their only hope: the Ranch - a safe place - after a worldwide blackout leaves them homeless, and stripped of the survival stockpile their father once had set aside for them. Can the two squabbling brothers overcome their differences and survive? Or will it be the very thing that tears them apart?

Perfect for fans of Gary Paulsen's Hatchet, 96 Miles is a story of survival, adventure and the resilient, sometimes unstable bonds we share with the ones we hold most dear to us. ~ Reviewed by Angela Turon


Frankly in Love by David Yoon - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Frankly in Love Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781984812209
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers - September 10th, 2019

Frank, a Korean-American High School senior in Southern California, has a full plate: struggles with his heritage, his family's divisions with their culture and each other, the pressures of school, and girls. Frank tackles these issues with humor and resolve, and by graduation day, what he learned in school pales compared to what he discovered about himself. ~ Reviewed by Mike Hare


Strange Exit by Parker Peevyhouse - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Strange Exit Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780765399427
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Tor Teen - January 14th, 2020

Strange Exit is a futuristic YA post-apocalypse adventure, the plot mainly happening in a virtual reality that all the characters are trapped in, with the actual setting being in space after a disastrous nuclear event on earth. With elements and inspirations from The Matrix and The 100, this book is filled with many interesting characters, page-turning thrills, and excellent world-building. I want more! ~ Reviewed by Kirstin Swartz


Snail Crossing by Corey R. Tabor - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Snail Crossing Cover Image
By Corey R. Tabor, Corey R. Tabor (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062878007
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Balzer + Bray - February 4th, 2020

"Cabbage bound! I'm cabbage bound! Head in the clouds, foot on the ground." And boy is Snail ever! Nothing will stop them from getting those cabbages: not cars, crows or antsy ants. A funny scene about making friends a not seen twist makes this a fun new story about determination and friendship. ~ Reviewed by Jeanette


The Boy and the Wild Blue Girl by Keith Negley - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
The Boy and the Wild Blue Girl Cover Image
By Keith Negley, Keith Negley (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062846808
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Balzer + Bray - April 14th, 2020

The Blue Girl of this story is a special entity that shapes the young narrator of the story in ways unimaginable. The art is created in mixed media. Negley mixes art, fantasy and science together to make a book that is fiction but is also based on the life of scientist Poul la Cour. A scientist who helped with the invention of wind turbines. ~ Reviewed by Jeanette


Nesting by Henry Cole - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Nesting Cover Image
By Henry Cole, Henry Cole (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062885920
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - March 3rd, 2020

A nonfiction story about the life of a robin and its family. This book would be a great tie-in for an older classroom science curriculum. Yet, the younger reader can enjoy as much. This is a book that can grow with your child: first as a read-to-book, then to read solo (or with a bit of help) and finally the tie-in to science. The reader needs to pay close attention to where (and what) color is used. The reason for the color used might not be clear at first, but they make the entire book quite poetic to look at. ~ Reviewed by Jeanette


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Children Books
Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Daily 10am-6pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990
Daily 10am-6pm
Directions to Saratoga Springs