Children Books

The Book of Dust: The Secret Commonwealth (Book of Dust, Volume 2) by Philip Pullman - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
The Book of Dust: The Secret Commonwealth (Book of Dust, Volume 2) Cover Image
$22.99
ISBN: 9780553510669
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Knopf Books for Young Readers - October 3rd, 2019

Pullman’s second volume in The Book of Dust series, which expands on His Dark Materials. Lovers of this series will dive right into Lyra and Pan’s continuing saga, picking up when Lyra is 20. Lyra and Pan find themselves drifting apart, literally and figuratively, and at a loss as to how to put things right. When Pan witnesses a murder, they find themselves drawn back into the dark and sinister world of the Magisterium and its evil ways trying to find and vanquish the source of Dust. Along with Malcolm Polstead, but following separate paths, they seek to find the cause of the murder and the source of the Magesterium’s focus. Does not disappoint. It was a joy to read, and I look forward to the final book in this series. ~ Reviewed by Tambra Johnson Reap


Burn Our Bodies Down by Rory Power - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Burn Our Bodies Down Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780525645627
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Delacorte Press - July 7th, 2020

For as long as Margot can remember, it’s been just her and her mother. One day, Margot decides to return to her mother’s hometown to get some answers. What she finds is a town full of secrets and mysteries, her family at the center of it all. Burn Our Bodies Down is a fast-paced thriller perfect for fans of Stephen King. It is filled with so many twists and turns, you won’t be able to see the ending coming. ~ Reviewed by Cassidy Washburn


Clap When You Land by Elizabeth Acevedo - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Clap When You Land Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780062882769
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Quill Tree Books - May 5th, 2020

Clap When You Land is a beautiful, raw, and emotional read. Told entirely in verse, it follows Camino and Yahaira, two sisters who have no idea that the other exists. Their father lived a double life, traveling between Camino in the Dominican Republic, and Yahaira in NYC. One day, on it's way to the Dominican Republic, their father's plane crashes, leaving no survivors. What follows is the girls' journey through grief, hope, love, and loss. The story is incredibly moving, capable of bringing the reader to tears and is now one of my favorite books. ~ Reviewed by Cassidy Washburn


The Poet X by Elizabeth Acevedo - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
The Poet X Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780062662811
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Quill Tree Books - April 7th, 2020

An urban girl's coming-of-age story, told by Acevedo, is a celebration of poetry, the written word, and life. ~ Reviewed by Mike Hare


Rules for Vanishing by Kate Alice Marshall - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Rules for Vanishing Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781984837011
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Viking Books for Young Readers - September 24th, 2019

Wow. Just wow.. This novel is the true definition of a psychological thriller. It’s eerie, dark, mind bending, terrifying.. the stuff of nightmares. If HP Lovecraft and Stephen King had a baby, this would be the product of two ingenious minds. ⁣
If you read this one - make sure you’re paying attention. Its subtle changes are clever and strategically placed! ~ Reviewed by Angela Turon


Graceling by Kristin Cashore - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Graceling Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780547258300
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: HMH Books for Young Readers - September 7th, 2009

A heady fantasy about a heady girl with fighting powers that make her feared throughout the Seven Kingdoms. While Katsa seeks a more nuanced identity, she must deal with political rivalries, prolonged travels, and personal upheavals that threaten her quest for maturity. ~ Reviewed by Mike Hare


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Children Books
Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Daily 10am-6pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990
Daily 10am-6pm
Directions to Saratoga Springs