Children - Early Readers

Sleepy Dog (Step into Reading) by Harriet Ziefert - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Sleepy Dog (Step into Reading) Cover Image
By Harriet Ziefert, Norman Gorbaty (Illustrator)
$4.99
ISBN: 9780394868776
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Random House Books for Young Readers - October 12th, 1984

One of my top 3 books from childhood. I have fond memories of this adorably illustrated book being read to me for many nights before falling asleep. I highly encourage everyone to give their children/children of loved ones the same fond memories with this book! ~ Reviewed by Jules Wagner


Kitten Construction Company: Meet the House Kittens by John Patrick Green - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Kitten Construction Company: Meet the House Kittens Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9781250801937
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: First Second - May 11th, 2021

This early chapter book graphic novel is perfect for fans of Bunjitsu Bunny. A group of kittens can't find jobs in construction, so start their own company. Lots of silly sweetness follows! ~ Reviewed by Rachel Person


Wednesday Wilson Gets Down to Business by Bree Galbraith - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Wednesday Wilson Gets Down to Business Cover Image
By Bree Galbraith, Morgan Goble (Illustrator)
$15.99
ISBN: 9781525303272
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Kids Can Press - June 1st, 2021

Wednesday's entrepreneurial spirit is infectious! Beyond the fun, inventive plot, this book does a great job of introducing (and explaining) advanced vocabulary, business concepts, and stereotypes. It also features a diverse cast of characters and fun illustrations by Morgan Goble! ~ Reviewed by Virginia Edinger


Arlo & Pips: King of the Birds by Elise Gravel - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Arlo & Pips: King of the Birds Cover Image
By Elise Gravel, Elise Gravel (Illustrator)
$7.99
ISBN: 9780062982223
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: HarperAlley - October 6th, 2020

Do you want to have fun while learning about crows? Then, I cannot recommend Arlo & Pips: Kings of the Birds enough. Done in story format, we have two birds (Arlo the crow and one little yellow bird who goes by Pips) who meet one day. After a lot of bragging by Arlo, Pips learns this is one of the traits of crows. Pips and the reader learn other fun facts about crows (such as the loving of shiny objects, how smart and clever crows are, that they are “good singers” and so much more). These two unlikely friends have an adventure, teach about crows and has clarifying statements when certain claims are made (such as how crows (and this reviewer) really like shiny objects). ~ Reviewed by Jeanette


The Story of Diva and Flea

Staff Pick Badge
The Story of Diva and Flea Cover Image
By Mo Willems, Tony DiTerlizzi (Illustrator)
$14.99
ISBN: 9781484722848
Availability: IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 1-5 Business Days
Published: Disney-Hyperion - October 13th, 2015

Diva is a little dog that lives in a home that has a lot of feet (a dangerous thing for a small dog). Flea is an alley cat that likes to wonder around and see what he can see (as long as it is not a broom coming at him). But when Flea and Diva meet the two become an unlikely set of friends. Yet, due to their unique talents and knowledge, each learns how to be brave in their own special way. It is true, you can get by with a little help from your friends! A delightfully sweet, silly and adventurous story for the lover of cats, dogs, Paris, or great stories. From read-aloud time "readers" up to readers age 8. Based on a the true story Diva and Flea. ~ Reviewed by Jeanette


Tales of Bunjitsu Bunny

Staff Pick Badge
Tales of Bunjitsu Bunny Cover Image
By John Himmelman, John Himmelman (Illustrator)
$6.99
ISBN: 9781250068064
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Square Fish - October 13th, 2015

Isbel is the best Bunjitsu artist at her school. She can kick higher then any other bunny, but she doesn't hurt anyone, unless she has to, because Bunjitsu isn't really about fighting, but about wisdom and being true to yourself. Wonderful book, every chapter is a short adventure, and every page has great drawings! ~ Reviewed by Leah Moore


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Children - Early Readers