Children - Early Readers

Donut Feed the Squirrels: (A Graphic Novel) (Norma and Belly #1) by Mika Song - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Donut Feed the Squirrels: (A Graphic Novel) (Norma and Belly #1) By Mika Song Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781984895837
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Random House Graphic - September 29th, 2020

My daughter LOVES this beautifully watercolor comic about two goofy squirrels, Norma and Belly, who get into trouble with a local doughnut truck. Cute and funny and a perfect next step for little kids raised on Elephant and Piggy. ~ Reviewed by Reilly Hadden


Cornbread & Poppy (Cornbread and Poppy #1) by Matthew Cordell - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Cornbread & Poppy (Cornbread and Poppy #1) By Matthew Cordell Cover Image
$6.99
ISBN: 9780759554863
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - January 4th, 2022

Cornbread & Poppy are dear friends though they are opposites - one is a planner, the other a procrastinator. Together they embark on a climb up Holler mountain, where owls fly and Ms. Ruthie disappeared, but the last place left to look for winter food for Cornbread who was too busy having fun to stock his shelves. A purely delightful winter caper debuting two charming mice any budding reader will find irresistible and made possible by the award winning talent of author, Mathew Cordell. ~ Reviewed by Nancy Scheemaker


Sleepy Dog (Step into Reading) by Harriet Ziefert - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Sleepy Dog (Step into Reading) By Harriet Ziefert, Norman Gorbaty (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Harriet Ziefert, Norman Gorbaty (Illustrator)
$4.99
ISBN: 9780394868776
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Random House Books for Young Readers - October 12th, 1984

One of my top 3 books from childhood. I have fond memories of this adorably illustrated book being read to me for many nights before falling asleep. I highly encourage everyone to give their children/children of loved ones the same fond memories with this book! ~ Reviewed by Jules Wagner


Kitten Construction Company: Meet the House Kittens by John Patrick Green - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Kitten Construction Company: Meet the House Kittens By John Patrick Green Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9781250801937
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: First Second - May 11th, 2021

This early chapter book graphic novel is perfect for fans of Bunjitsu Bunny. A group of kittens can't find jobs in construction, so start their own company. Lots of silly sweetness follows! ~ Reviewed by Rachel Person


Wednesday Wilson Gets Down to Business by Bree Galbraith - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Wednesday Wilson Gets Down to Business By Bree Galbraith, Morgan Goble (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Bree Galbraith, Morgan Goble (Illustrator)
$15.99
ISBN: 9781525303272
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Kids Can Press - June 1st, 2021

Wednesday's entrepreneurial spirit is infectious! Beyond the fun, inventive plot, this book does a great job of introducing (and explaining) advanced vocabulary, business concepts, and stereotypes. It also features a diverse cast of characters and fun illustrations by Morgan Goble! ~ Reviewed by Virginia Edinger


Arlo & Pips: King of the Birds by Elise Gravel - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Arlo & Pips: King of the Birds By Elise Gravel, Elise Gravel (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Elise Gravel, Elise Gravel (Illustrator)
$7.99
ISBN: 9780062982223
Availability: IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 3-7 Business Days
Published: HarperAlley - October 6th, 2020

Do you want to have fun while learning about crows? Then, I cannot recommend Arlo & Pips: Kings of the Birds enough. Done in story format, we have two birds (Arlo the crow and one little yellow bird who goes by Pips) who meet one day. After a lot of bragging by Arlo, Pips learns this is one of the traits of crows. Pips and the reader learn other fun facts about crows (such as the loving of shiny objects, how smart and clever crows are, that they are “good singers” and so much more). These two unlikely friends have an adventure, teach about crows and has clarifying statements when certain claims are made (such as how crows (and this reviewer) really like shiny objects). ~ Reviewed by Jeanette


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Children - Early Readers