Children - Fantasy & Sci-Fi

Memory Boy

Staff Pick Badge
Memory Boy Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780062018144
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HarperTeen - January 3rd, 2012

Miles and his family flee their volcanic ash-covered city for what they hope is their safe cabin in the woods. The family must deal not only with the immediate effects of the eruptions such as lack of sunlight, food and water, they must deal with others who are also just trying to survive. A unique combination of science fiction and adventure, Weaver's story is frightfully realistic and thought provoking. ~ Reviewed by Jeanette


Un Lun Dun

Staff Pick Badge
Un Lun Dun Cover Image
$14.00
ISBN: 9780345458445
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Del Rey - January 29th, 2008

What is Un Lun Dun? It is a world of magic, mystery and very much like our world. If you think men with pins and needles in their heads, half-ghost boys, thrown out milk cartons as pets (who enjoy a good petting), flying busses and bridges that show up when they feel like it is like our world. Mieville has created a novel influenced by Wonderland, Narnia, Tolkien, Pullman and many others, not to mention the bizarre, amazing inventions of his own, with Un Lun Dun. Follow best friends Zanna and Deeba as they explore this fantastical world: a world that is not always what it seems; old friends not so friendly and giraffes not so cute or cuddly! ~ Reviewed by Jeanette


Clemency Pogue: Fairy Killer

Staff Pick Badge
Clemency Pogue: Fairy Killer Cover Image
By JT Petty, Will Davis (Illustrator)
$7.99
ISBN: 9781442430976
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - April 18th, 2011

Clemency seems like a normal 11 year-old, but one who knows her fairy tales. To stop a very bad tempered fairy from bothering her, Clemency Pogue accidentally kills not only that fairy (by saying a very familiar phrase) but many good (and other bad) fairies too. It is up to her and a hobgoblin (who probably cares a little more than he is willing to admit) to bring back the good fairies, without bringing back the bad ones too. If you enjoyed the Spiderwick Chronicles this is another great story to try. ~ Reviewed by Jeanette


Fallen

Staff Pick Badge
Fallen Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780385739139
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Ember - September 28th, 2010

Luce, (suspected of a crime she cannot remember) is sent to a Savannah, Georgia, reform school. Here she some very interesting people. Even possible dangerous! But she is drawn to Daniel Grigori in spite of this. But when security cameras watch your every move, how will she learn the secrets her classmates are keeping. Gothic romance, thriller and love story mixed together for fans of Meyers, Bray and supernatural.~ Reviewed by Jeanette


Zorgamazoo

Staff Pick Badge
Zorgamazoo Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9781595142955
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Razorbill - September 2nd, 2010

If Dr. Seuss, Lemony Snicket and The Phantom Tollbooth are your thing then this is the book for you! Funny, adventurous, mysterious and much more make this a page turner you'll pick up again and again! Told in the unique style of rhyming, this novel is fun for all ages and all reading styles! ~ Reviewed by Jeanette


The Returners

Staff Pick Badge
The Returners (Declaration) Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781599904436
Availability: Special Order
Published: Bloomsbury USA Childrens - March 1st, 2010

Will Hodge is miserable. His mother is dead, his father's political ideas (and friends) have gone to a terrible extreme, and his friends practically ignore him. If that is not bad enough he is having nightmares and he is being followed by a group of people who say they know him: from the past! When the truth finally comes out, can Will come to terms with the reality of it all? An interesting look at society, how we treat each other, and being able to live with our own conscience.~ Reviewed by Jeanette


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Children - Fantasy & Sci-Fi
Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Daily 10am-6pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990
Daily 10am-6pm
Directions to Saratoga Springs