Children Books

Emergency Contact by Mary H. K. Choi - Book Review

Staff Pick Logo
Emergency Contact Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781534408968
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - March 27th, 2018

Sam is the damaged, tattooed boy from the trailer park. Penny is the responsible yet emotionally unavailable college student. After meeting just one time, Penny sees Sam pass out on the sidewalk and takes him to the hospital. They exchange phone numbers and become each other's emergency contact...and the texting begins. For fans of Eleanor and Park this is a young adult romance at its best! ~ Reviewed by Whitney Kaaz


Murray the Race Horse: Fables from the Stables Book 1 by Gavin Puckett - Book Review

Staff Pick Logo
Murray the Race Horse: Fables from the Stables Book 1 Cover Image
By Gavin Puckett, Tor Freeman (Illustrator)
$8.95
ISBN: 9780571334681
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Faber & Faber Children's - May 15th, 2018

Murray, the first novel in the Fables from the Stables series starts with an introduction by the author informing you this is the true (or as true as can be as it was told to him) story about a horse. We see our horse hero wanting to be a race horse but is not very fast. The other horses tease him. However, when one of the horses is injured its jockey asks him to get in the race. However, Murray learns that he has a very interesting style. Also in the series: Colin the Cart Horse and Poppy the Police Horse (due in September) and Hendrix the Rocking Horse. ~ Reviewed by Jeanette


Hendrix the Rocking Horse: Fables from the Stables Book 2 by Gavin Puckett - Book Review

Staff Pick Logo
Hendrix the Rocking Horse: Fables from the Stables Book 2 Cover Image
By Gavin Puckett, Tor Freeman (Illustrator)
$8.95
ISBN: 9780571315406
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Faber & Faber Children's - May 15th, 2018

Hendrix, the second novel in the Fables from the Stables series starts with an introduction by the author informing you this is the true (or as true as can be as it was told to him) story about a horse. In rhyming text, you follow Hendrix as he learns that rocking out is what this horse is all about! Also in the series: Colin the Cart Horse and Poppy the Police Horse (due in September) and Murray the Race Horse. ~ Reviewed by Jeanette


Daddy Played the Blues by Michael Garland - Book Review

Staff Pick Logo
Daddy Played the Blues Cover Image
By Michael Garland, Michael Garland (Illustrator)
$17.95
ISBN: 9780884485889
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Tilbury House Publishers - September 5th, 2017

Our heroine Cassie is not really the focus of the book. But Music is. Blues music in fact. In a fiction format we learn about a family that packed up everything they owned in their truck with her Daddy, Uncle and Mama in the front and Cassie and her two brothers in the back. We see the migration from the South to Chicago. We see the people that made blues music popular to the public. And how the blues helped one family get through the very tough times. The back-matter of the story has Garland telling how he came to find his own music in the 1970s but how he came to find, The Blues. ~ Reviewed by Jeanette


For Every One by Jason Reynolds - Book Review

Staff Pick Logo
For Every One Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781481486248
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Atheneum Books - April 10th, 2018

This book is one long poem. But then again, it is not a poem. It is a letter. A letter to Reynolds younger self. To his future self. And to his present self. It is a letter to people of all ages no matter if it is your present or future self. These 112 pages are a commencement speech. It is a book you give to a graduate of high school or college. Or given to someone who is having a hard time (due to a loss or seemed "failure" in their life or in general is struggling). It is something you read, keep and purchase copies of to give to people. For ages 14 to adult. ~ Reviewed by Jeanette


The Wild Robot Escapes by Peter Brown - Book Review

Staff Pick Logo
The Wild Robot Escapes Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780316382045
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - March 13th, 2018

Another awesome adventure with Roz the Robot!
Captured and deactivated at the end of book 1, Roz wakes up at the farm of nice family who bought her from a Discount Robot store. Her job now is to take care of the farm animals, but all she wants is to go back home to her island and her friends, and most importantly, find her son. Will she ever be able to break her programming and leave the farm?
Illustrations and short chapters make this a great family or classroom read - but make sure you pick up book 1 first! ~ Reviewed by Leah Moore


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Children Books
Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Saratoga Springs