True Crime

Passport by Sophia Glock - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Passport Cover Image
$24.99
ISBN: 9780316458986
Availability: Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - November 2nd, 2021

An excellent debut. Sophia chronicles her mid-teenagehood as a U.S. expat living in Central America in the late 1990s. Her world is shaken when she discovers that her parents don't just have vague government jobs: they work undercover for the CIA. She buries this knowledge with schoolwork, forming and ending friendships, sneaking out to parties, and experimenting with boys. This is a beautiful tale of family and friendship, as well as an exploration into how different relationships make up the definition of home. I would highly recommend this book for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Vera Brosgol. ~ Reviewed by Annabelle Mackson


I'll Be Gone in the Dark: One Woman's Obsessive Search for the Golden State Killer by Michelle McNamara - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
I'll Be Gone in the Dark: One Woman's Obsessive Search for the Golden State Killer Cover Image
By Michelle McNamara, Gillian Flynn (Introduction by), Patton Oswalt (Afterword by)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062319791
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Harper Perennial - February 26th, 2019

Absolutely captivating. As highlighted in the book by her editors, McNamara wrote I'll Be Gone in The Dark with all the precision and suspense of an immaculately plotted thriller—except every detail is fact, and every victim is real. McNamara died in 2016, never seeing the publication of her book, nor the apprehension of the murderer she dubbed the Golden State Killer. He was caught in April 2018, a mere three months after I'll Be Gone in the Dark was published, and nearly two years to the day after she died. This book is worth a read for McNamara's memory and legacy alone, but it is also an excellent study of human behavior and perseverance even when all hope seems lost. ~ Reviewed by Annabelle Mackson


Catch the Sparrow: A Search for a Sister and the Truth of her Murder by Rachel Rear - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Catch the Sparrow: A Search for a Sister and the Truth of her Murder Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781635577235
Availability: Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Bloomsbury Publishing - February 1st, 2022

The rollercoaster ride that had been Stephanie Kupchynsky's life was finally beginning to level out when she vanished from her apartment near Rochester, New York in 1991. The investigation into the young woman's disappearance was compromised by a police department mired in corruption and the case was finally relegated into official limbo until two boys discovered her skeletal remains seven years later. This fascinating chronicle of her stepsister's quest to find out what happened to Stephanie, someone she had never met in life, is both a riveting, emotionally potent true crime book and a cautionary tale on the advisability of locking doors. ~ Reviewed by Alden Graves


Lady Killers: Deadly Women Throughout History by Tori Telfer - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Lady Killers: Deadly Women Throughout History Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062433732
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Harper Perennial - October 10th, 2017

Perfect for any true crime junkie, Lady Killers tell the tales of some of history's most infamous female serial killers. Tori Telfer is the perfect narrator as she describes these women's plights and eventual downfalls showing that you're not born a murderess, you're made one. ~ Reviewed by Samantha Beitler


We Keep the Dead Close: A Murder at Harvard and a Half Century of Silence by Becky Cooper - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
We Keep the Dead Close: A Murder at Harvard and a Half Century of Silence Cover Image
$29.00
ISBN: 9781538746837
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Grand Central Publishing - November 10th, 2020

This was my first foray into the True Crime genre, and it's the perfect introduction. Investigating the 1969 murder of an anthropology student, Cooper wonderfully weaves her own dedication for solving Jane Britton's murder while also uncovering the dark side of academia and how Harvard and the Cambridge Police swept the circumstances under the rug. ~ Reviewed by Samantha Beitler


Confident Women: Swindlers, Grifters, and Shapeshifters of the Feminine Persuasion by Tori Telfer - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Confident Women: Swindlers, Grifters, and Shapeshifters of the Feminine Persuasion Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062956033
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Harper Perennial - February 23rd, 2021

A new compilation from the author of Lady Killers: Deadly Women Throughout History, this is a “thoroughly entertaining and darkly humorous roundup of history’s notorious but often forgotten female con artists and their bold, outrageous scams...”. Divided into groups “Glitterati”, “Seers”,“Fabulists” and “Drifters” this marvelous book exposes all sorts of con-women throughout history, and poses the question of how these women managed so brilliantly to dupe and swindle. An incredibly fun read. ~ Reviewed by Tambra Johnson Reap


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - True Crime