True Crime | Northshire Bookstore

True Crime

The Other Dr. Gilmer: Two Men, a Murder, and an Unlikely Fight for Justice by Benjamin Gilmer - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
The Other Dr. Gilmer: Two Men, a Murder, and an Unlikely Fight for Justice Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780593355169
Availability: Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Ballantine Books - March 1st, 2022

A shattering true story of murder, law, prison, disease, and, ultimately, hope. The author's quest to discover why his namesake committed a ghastly murder weaves through societal retribution and revenge, until he discovers an explanation for the crime that diffuses hate, and affords understanding. ~ Reviewed by Mike Hare


The Icepick Surgeon: Murder, Fraud, Sabotage, Piracy, and Other Dastardly Deeds Perpetrated in the Name of Science by Sam Kean - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
The Icepick Surgeon: Murder, Fraud, Sabotage, Piracy, and Other Dastardly Deeds Perpetrated in the Name of Science Cover Image
$29.00
ISBN: 9780316496506
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Little, Brown and Company - July 13th, 2021

A fantastic, and horrifying blend of True Crime and Science, The Icepick Surgeon details all the dastardly deeds done in the name of science. Spilling some of the untold history of science’s darkest secrets, this book will shock, intrigue and make you gasp. Perfect for any true crime junkie, and definitely not for the faint of heart! ~ Reviewed by Samantha Beitler


Veritas: A Harvard Professor, a Con Man and the Gospel of Jesus's Wife by Ariel Sabar - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Veritas: A Harvard Professor, a Con Man and the Gospel of Jesus's Wife Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780525433897
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Anchor - June 29th, 2021

When Harvard professor Karen King made her announcement in the shadow of the Vatican in 2012, it had the potential to alter centuries of accepted doctrine about the life of Jesus. A small papyrus had been sent to King that alluded to a marriage between Christ and Mary Magdalene. This is a riveting true life detective story, but solving the puzzle was a little like following a lighted fuse. Was the "Gospel of Jesus's Wife" really explosive evidence that Christ was subject to human passions or was the whole thing a masterfully contrived con that deceived one of the most respected authorities on religion in academia? The trail led Sabar to a man in Florida whose past was more labyrinthine than any fiction writer could ever conceive. ~ Reviewed by Alden Graves


Passport by Sophia Glock - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Passport Cover Image
$24.99
ISBN: 9780316458986
Availability: IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 3-7 Business Days
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - November 30th, 2021

An excellent debut. Sophia chronicles her mid-teenagehood as a U.S. expat living in Central America in the late 1990s. Her world is shaken when she discovers that her parents don't just have vague government jobs: they work undercover for the CIA. She buries this knowledge with schoolwork, forming and ending friendships, sneaking out to parties, and experimenting with boys. This is a beautiful tale of family and friendship, as well as an exploration into how different relationships make up the definition of home. I would highly recommend this book for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Vera Brosgol. ~ Reviewed by Annabelle Mackson


I'll Be Gone in the Dark: One Woman's Obsessive Search for the Golden State Killer by Michelle McNamara - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
I'll Be Gone in the Dark: One Woman's Obsessive Search for the Golden State Killer Cover Image
By Michelle McNamara, Gillian Flynn (Introduction by), Patton Oswalt (Afterword by)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062319791
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Harper Perennial - February 26th, 2019

Absolutely captivating. As highlighted in the book by her editors, McNamara wrote I'll Be Gone in The Dark with all the precision and suspense of an immaculately plotted thriller—except every detail is fact, and every victim is real. McNamara died in 2016, never seeing the publication of her book, nor the apprehension of the murderer she dubbed the Golden State Killer. He was caught in April 2018, a mere three months after I'll Be Gone in the Dark was published, and nearly two years to the day after she died. This book is worth a read for McNamara's memory and legacy alone, but it is also an excellent study of human behavior and perseverance even when all hope seems lost. ~ Reviewed by Annabelle Mackson


Catch the Sparrow: A Search for a Sister and the Truth of her Murder by Rachel Rear - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Catch the Sparrow: A Search for a Sister and the Truth of Her Murder Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781635577235
Availability: Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Bloomsbury Publishing - February 1st, 2022

The rollercoaster ride that had been Stephanie Kupchynsky's life was finally beginning to level out when she vanished from her apartment near Rochester, New York in 1991. The investigation into the young woman's disappearance was compromised by a police department mired in corruption and the case was finally relegated into official limbo until two boys discovered her skeletal remains seven years later. This fascinating chronicle of her stepsister's quest to find out what happened to Stephanie, someone she had never met in life, is both a riveting, emotionally potent true crime book and a cautionary tale on the advisability of locking doors. ~ Reviewed by Alden Graves


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - True Crime