Booktopia 2018 Author Line-up

The following is the group of amazing authors who will come together for Booktopia 2018! All have received accolades about their new books from media and readers accross the country! Each author will lead different group sessions over the course of the 2 day retreat which will end with a group event on Saturday evening celebrating all authors and readers! A book signing will complete the weekend. 

Special Opening Presentation by Former Booktopia Author  (for those here last year, think Steven Kiernan)

Steve Yarbrough Presents The Unmade World

An American in Poland loses everyone he loves in a car accident. An unremarkable petty criminal is responsible but never caught. How do these two strangers go on with their lives--one consumed by grief, the other by guilt. This is page-turning literary fiction. Excellently crafted characters, propulsive narrative (plus a generous dose of suspense), sparkling prose. In a word--superb. — Stan Hynds

 

The son of Mississippi Delta cotton farmers, Steve is currently a professor in the Department of Writing, Literature and Publishing at Emerson College.  He has two daughters—Lena Yarbrough and Antonina Parris—and is married to the Polish writer Ewa Hryniewicz-Yarbrough.  They live in the greater Boston area. This is Steve's 11th book.

 

 

Below is the Weekend Line-up of Spectacular Authors.

Ariel Lawhon Presents I Was Anastasia

"Compelling and utterly fascinating...drifts far into the mysterious lives of Anastasia Romanov and Anna Anderson."--Lisa Wingate, author of Before We Were Yours

 

ARIEL LAWHON is a critically acclaimed author of historical fiction. Her books have been translated into numerous languages and have been Library Reads, One Book One County, and Book of the Month Club selections. She is the co-founder of SheReads.org and lives in the rolling hills outside Nashville, Tennessee, with her husband, four sons, black Lab, and a deranged cat. She splits her time between the grocery store and the baseball field.

 

 

Chloe Benjamin Presents The Immortalists

A dazzling family love story reminiscent of Everything I Never Told You from a novelist heralded by Lorrie Moore as a "great new talent."

     

Chloe Benjamin is the author of the novel The Anatomy of Dreams, which received the Edna Ferber Fiction Book Award and was longlisted for the 2014 Center for Fiction First Novel Prize. A San Francisco native, Benjamin is a graduate of Vassar College and of the University of Wisconsin, where she received her MFA in fiction. She lives with her husband in Madison, Wisconsin.

 

Heather Abel Presents The Optimistic Decade

You say you want a revolution? This energetic and entertaining novel about a utopian summer camp and its charismatic leader asks smart questions about good intentions gone terribly wrong.

 

 

Heather Abel was raised in Santa Monica, California. She attended Swarthmore College and subsequently worked as a reporter and editor for political newspapers. Her essays have been published in the New York Times, the Los Angeles Times, Slate, and elsewhere. She received her MFA in fiction from the New School, where she later taught creative nonfiction writing. She lives in Northampton, Massachusetts, with her husband and two daughters.

 

 

Jonathan Miles Presents Anatomy of a Miracle

"Miles's powerful prose nudges readers to seek the soft spots between faith and judgement, story and science, and fact and fiction." -- CJ Lotz, Garden & Gun
A profound new novel about a paralyzed young man's unexplainable recovery--a stunning exploration of faith, science, mystery, and the meaning of life.

Jonathan Miles is the author of the novels Dear American Airlines and Want Not, both New York Times Notable Books. He is a former columnist for the New York Times, he has served as a contributing editor to magazines ranging from Details to Field & Stream, and his journalism has been frequently anthologized in Best American Sports Writing and Best American Crime Writing. He is also the author of a book on fish and game cookery, The Wild Chef, and competed in the Dakar Rally, an off-road race through Africa.

 

Pamela Paul Presents My Life With Bob

People Pick - O Magazine Title to Pick Up Now - Vanity Fair Hot Type - Glamour New Book You're Guaranteed to Love This Summer - LitHub.com Best Book about Books - Buzzfeed Book You Need to Read This Summer - Seattle Times Book for Summer Reading - Warby Parker Blog Book Pick - Google Talks - Harper's Bazaar - Vogue -The Washington Post - The Economist - The Christian Science Monitor - Salon - The Atlantic

 

Pamela Paul is the editor of The New York Times Book Review and oversees books coverage at The New York Times. She is also the host of the weekly podcast, Inside The New York Times Book Review. Her latest book is "My Life with Bob: Flawed Heroine Keeps Book of Books, Plot Ensues." She is also the author of four other books By the Book; Parenting, Inc.; Pornified; and The Starter Marriage and the Future of Matrimony. Prior to joining the Times, she was a contributor to Time magazine and The Economist; her work has appeared in The Atlantic, The Washington Post, Slate, and Vogue.

 

 

Peter Swansoon in Conversation with Fellow Mystery/Thriller Author Eric Rickstad Presenting All the Beautiful Lies

From the acclaimed author of The Girl with a Clock for a Heart Her Every Fear and The Kind Worth Killing comes a diabolically clever tale of obsession, revenge, and cold-blooded murder--a sly and brilliant guessing game of a novel in the vein of Ruth Ware, Paula Hawkins, and Patricia Highsmith.

Peter Swanson novel The Girl With a Clock For a Heart, was an LA Times Book Award finalist; The Kind Worth Killing, was the winner of the New England Society Book Award, and finalist for the CWA Ian Fleming Steel Dagger. His books have been translated into 30 languages, and his stories, poetry, and features have appeared in Asimov’s Science Fiction, The Atlantic Monthly, Measure, The Guardian, The Strand Magazine, and Yankee Magazine.

A graduate of Trinity College, the University of Massachusetts at Amherst, and Emerson College, he lives in Somerville, Massachusetts with his wife and cat.

 

 

 

Eric Rickstad is the New York Times, USA Today, Wall Street Journal, Amazon, and international bestselling author of the THE SILENT GIRLS, LIE IN WAIT, and REAP, novels heralded as intelligent and profound, dark, disturbing, and heartbreaking. He lives in his home state of Vermont. His latest novel, THE NAMES OF DEAD GIRLS—the terrifying sequel to the smash sensation THE SILENT GIRLS—published September 12, 2017. 

 

 

 

 

Robin Oliveira Presenting Winter Sisters

From the New York Times bestselling author of My Name Is Mary Sutter comes a rich and compelling historical novel about the disappearance of two young girls after a cataclysmic blizzard, and what happens when their fate is discovered.

 

Robin Oliveira is the New York Times bestselling author of My Name Is Mary Sutter and I Always Loved You. She holds a BA in Russian and studied at the Pushkin Language Institute in Moscow. She received an MFA in writing from Vermont College of Fine Arts and is also a registered nurse, specializing in critical care. She lives in Seattle, Washington.

 

Stephen McCauley Presenting  My Ex-Life

“As always, McCauley’s effervescent prose is full of wit and wisdom on every topic—college application essays, Airbnb operation, weed addiction, live porn websites, and, most of all, people. ‘When everything looks perfectly right about a person, there’s usually something significantly wrong. All couples start off as Romeo and Juliet and end up as Laurel and Hardy.’ A gin and tonic for the soul.”
Kirkus Reviews

Stephen McCauley is the author of six previous novels, including The Object of My Affection, True Enough, and Alternatives to Sex. Many have been national bestsellers, and three have been made into feature films. The New York Times Book Review dubbed McCauley "the secret love child of Edith Wharton and Woody Allen," and he was named a Chevalier in the Order of Arts and Letters by the French Ministry of Culture. His fiction, reviews, and articles have appeared in the New York Times, the Washington Post, Harper's, Vogue, and many other publications. He currently serves as Co-Director of Creative Writing at Brandeis University. He has several properties listed on Airbnb in Massachusetts and New York and owns a total of zero toss pillows.

Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Saratoga Springs