We Set the Dark on Fire (Compact Disc)

Staff Pick Badge
We Set the Dark on Fire By Tehlor Kay Mejia, Kyla Garcia (Read by) Cover Image
$39.99
Special Order

Staff Reviews


In Medio, rich women are trained for one of two roles- Primeras run their husband's households and Segundas raise their children. Daniela has risked everything to become a Primera and live a life of luxury, but when Sota comes to her asking her to be a spy and help bring equality to Medio, Dani must decide if her cushy life is worth the suffering of the peasants. — Jessie DeGarmo

Spring 2019 Kids Indie Next List


“There are only two outcomes when you finish at the Media School for Girls: a Primara, or First Wife, who is to act as the partner to her husband and run his household, or a Segunda, or Second Wife, who is in charge of being beautiful and bearing his children. Each man gets one of each. Dani is the school’s best student and the top Primara pick, so it’s no surprise when she’s chosen by the candidate favored to become their country’s next president. But Dani has a past that she will do everything in her power to protect. If you enjoy The Handmaid’s Tale, but are looking for a YA twist, this is the book for you. I definitely recommend this one.”
— Jennifer Jones, Bookmiser, Roswell, GA

Description


In this daring and romantic fantasy debut perfect for fans of The Handmaid's Tale and Latinx authors Zoraida C rdova and Anna-Marie McLemore, society wife-in-training Dani has a great awakening after being recruited by rebel spies and falling for her biggest rival.

At the Medio School for Girls, distinguished young women are trained for one of two roles in their polarized society. Depending on her specialization, a graduate will one day run a husband's household or raise his children. Both paths promise a life of comfort and luxury, far from the frequent political uprisings of the lower class.

Daniela Vargas is the school's top student, but her pedigree is a lie. She must keep the truth hidden or be sent back to the fringes of society.

And school couldn't prepare her for the difficult choices she must make after graduation, especially when she is asked to spy for a resistance group desperately fighting to bring equality to Medio.

Will Dani cling to the privilege her parents fought to win for her, or will she give up everything she's strived for in pursuit of a free Medio--and a chance at a forbidden love?



Product Details
ISBN: 9781982610630
ISBN-10: 1982610638
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publication Date: February 26th, 2019
Language: English