New Kid Lib/E (Compact Disc)

Staff Pick Badge
New Kid Lib/E By Jerry Craft, Robin Miles (Read by), Rebecca Soler (Read by) Cover Image
By Jerry Craft, Robin Miles (Read by), Rebecca Soler (Read by)
$29.99
Special Order

Staff Reviews


Jordan Banks is a seventh grader starting a new school, not the art school he was hoping for, and also not the one all his neighborhood friends go to. His parents are sending him to a private school known for it’s academic excellence, and he is one of the few kids of color to attend. Jordan has to learn how to find his place, and be true to himself, in both his new school, and with the new dynamic he has with his friends at home.This book tackles many issues, such as racism, bullying, and fitting in, with great style and a lot of humor. It’s a great addition to the graphic novel genre.

Becky Doherty

— HarperKids

Spring 2019 Kids Indie Next List


New Kid tackles diversity and inclusion with humor and charm. Jordan Banks wants to go to art school, but his mother sends him to Riverdale, a predominantly white private school, to increase his opportunities. Jordan teams up with Liam and Drew and along the way starts to enjoy himself. Craft uses pop culture parody references to start each chapter and includes drawings by Jordan throughout the book. The graphic novel format is perfect for a kid who loves art and also serves to take the story deeper as the pictures add another layer. Highly recommended for new kids and old ones!”
— Kathy Burnette, The Brain Lair, South Bend, IN

Description


An original full-cast audio adaptation of the graphic novel from award-winning author-illustrator Jerry Craft, performed by the author with Jesus Del Orden, Nile Bullock, Robin Miles, Guy Lockard, Peyton Lusk, Rebecca Soler, Dan Bittner, Phoebe Strole, Marc Thompson, Miles Harvey, and Ron Butler.

Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Gene Luen Yang, New Kid is a timely, honest novel about starting over at a new school where diversity is low and the struggle to fit in is real.

Seventh grader Jordan Banks loves nothing more than drawing cartoons about his life. But instead of sending him to the art school of his dreams, his parents enroll him in a prestigious private school known for its academics, where Jordan is one of the few kids of color in his entire grade.

As he makes the daily trip from his Washington Heights apartment to the upscale Riverdale Academy Day School, Jordan soon finds himself torn between two worlds--and not really fitting into either one. Can Jordan learn to navigate his new school culture while keeping his neighborhood friends and staying true to himself?

Filled with sound effects and original music, this audio adventure is one the whole family will enjoy.



Product Details
ISBN: 9781982609030
ISBN-10: 1982609036
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publication Date: February 5th, 2019
Language: English