The Book of Magic: A Novel (The Practical Magic Series #4) (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Badge
The Book of Magic: A Novel (The Practical Magic Series #4) Cover Image
Click Title for IN STORE Location
Northshire Manchester
10 on hand, as of Oct 25 6:18pm
Northshire Saratoga
14 on hand, as of Oct 25 6:18pm

Other Books in Series

This is book number 4 in the The Practical Magic Series series.

Staff Reviews

This is one of the best, most satisfying Concluding volumes of a beloved series that I have read in a long time. From Practical Magic onward Alice Hoffman wove the individual stories of the Owens women through the tumultuous eye of history, threading important issues through a rich tapestry of earth magic traditions. And here in the culminating volume all the women from Maria in the 17 century onward are fully drawn and their stories told and the curse’s source explored. What is so magical about this quartet is you can start with any volume and find adventure, heartache and wisdom but truly the Book of Magic is perfection.

Maeve Noonan

October 2021 Indie Next List

“A wonderful conclusion to the series with a new generation of Owens to charm us. For fans who like their books with a good dose of magic, and readers who enjoy a family saga with characters that win you over. What a treat!”
— Laura Taylor, The Oxford Exchange, Tampa, FL


Master storyteller Alice Hoffman brings us the conclusion of the Practical Magic series in a spellbinding and enchanting final Owens novel brimming with lyric beauty and vivid characters.

The Owens family has been cursed in matters of love for over three-hundred years but all of that is about to change. The novel begins in a library, the best place for a story to be conjured, when beloved aunt Jet Owens hears the deathwatch beetle and knows she has only seven days to live. Jet is not the only one in danger—the curse is already at work.

A frantic attempt to save a young man’s life spurs three generations of the Owens women, and one long-lost brother, to use their unusual gifts to break the curse as they travel from Paris to London to the English countryside where their ancestor Maria Owens first practiced the Unnamed Art. The younger generation discovers secrets that have been hidden from them in matters of both magic and love by Sally, their fiercely protective mother. As Kylie Owens uncovers the truth about who she is and what her own dark powers are, her aunt Franny comes to understand that she is ready to sacrifice everything for her family, and Sally Owens realizes that she is willing to give up everything for love.

The Book of Magic is a breathtaking conclusion that celebrates mothers and daughters, sisters and brothers, and anyone who has ever been in love.

About the Author

Alice Hoffman is the author of more than thirty works of fiction, including Magic LessonsThe World That We KnewPractical MagicThe Rules of Magic, the Oprah’s Book Club selection Here on EarthThe Red GardenThe DovekeepersThe Museum of Extraordinary ThingsThe Marriage of Opposites, and Faithful. She lives near Boston.

Praise For…

“Some stories begin at the beginning and others begin at the end.” So opens The Book of Magic, the final installment of Alice Hoffman’s popular Practical Magic series, a page-turning fairy tale of a saga that spans three books, one star-studded movie adaptation and multiple centuries of adventure and misadventure, love lost and found and bottomless cauldrons of sorcery in the lives of the bewitchingly witchy Owens the witches who populate her stories, Hoffman certainly knows how to enchant." NEW YORK TIMES BOOK REVIEW

"Alice Hoffman has given us such a gift with this series, and this final chapter is sure to be another heartfelt celebration of mothers and daughters and the magic of falling in love." LITHUB

“I love Alice Hoffman. Full of Hoffman’s bewitching and lucid prose and vivid characters, The Book of Magic is ultimately about the very human magic of family and love and actions that echo through generations. Filled with secrets and splendor and light and dark, the novel works as well as a stand-alone as it does as a conclusion to a mesmerizing series. It casts a spell.” MATT HAIG, New York Times best-selling author of The Midnight Library

Product Details
ISBN: 9781982151485
ISBN-10: 198215148X
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Publication Date: October 12th, 2021
Pages: 400
Language: English
Series: The Practical Magic Series