Plays, Volume One (Paperback)

Plays, Volume One By Luigi Pirandello, Robert Rietti (Editor) Cover Image
Call or email to see if a used copy is available.
Out of Print


The first volume of the complete theatrical works by one of the greatest and influential Italian authors of the 20th century Whatever is a reality today, whatever you touch and believe in and seems real for you today, is going to be--like the reality of yesterday--an illusion tomorrow.

The first of three volumes collecting the complete plays of Luigi Pirandello, this volume contains some of Pirandello's most famous plays, including Six Characters in Search of an Author, Henry IV, Each in His Own Way, and The Life That I Gave You, as well as several of his lesser-known works for the stage, some of which are translated into English for the first time. Preoccupied with the nature of truth and delusion, and treading dangerously on the borderline between sanity and madness, Pirandello's plays are a daring exploration of human actions and the dark motives lying behind them, and the culmination of the naturalistic school of theater inaugurated by authors such as Ibsen and Chekhov.

About the Author

One of the most innovative and influential playwrights of the last century, Luigi Pirandello (1867-1936) is best known for his comic masterpiece Six Characters in Search of an Author, and was the winner of the 1934 Nobel Prize for Literature. Robert Rietti is an Oscar-nominated actor and a translator. He has translated the entire dramatic works of Luigi Pirandello into English.

Product Details
ISBN: 9781847491442
ISBN-10: 1847491448
Publisher: Oneworld Classics
Publication Date: October 1st, 2011
Pages: 586
Language: English
Series: Oneworld Classics