We Are All Targets: How Renegade Hackers Invented Cyber War and Unleashed an Age of Global Chaos (Compact Disc)

We Are All Targets: How Renegade Hackers Invented Cyber War and Unleashed an Age of Global Chaos By Matt Potter, Matthew Waterson (Read by) Cover Image
IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 3-7 Business Days


The incredible untold origin story of cyberwar and the hackers who unleashed it on the world Two years before 9/11, the United States was attacked by an unknown enemy. No advance warning was given, and it didn't target civilians. Instead, tomahawk missiles started missing their targets, US agents were swept up by hostile governments, and America's enemies seemed to know its every move in advance. A new phase of warfare--cyber war--had arrived. And within two decades it escaped Pandora's Box, plunging us into a state of total war where every day, countless cyber attacks perpetrated by states and mercenaries are reshaping the world. After receiving an anonymous email with leaked NATO battle plans during the bombardment of Kosovo, journalist Matt Potter embarked on a twenty-year investigation into the origins of cyber war and how it came to dominate the world. He uncovered its beginnings - worthy of a Bond movie - in the last days of the Cold War, as the US and its allies empowered a generation of Eastern European hackers, only to wake up in the late 90s to a new world order. It's a story that winds through Balkan hacking culture, Russia, Silicon Valley, and the Pentagon, introducing us to characters like a celebrity hacker with missing fingers who keeps escaping prison, FBI agents chasing the first generation of cyber mercenaries in the 90s, tech CEOs, and Russian generals obsessed with a Cold War rematch. Never before told, this is the riveting secret history of cyberwar not as governments want it to be - controlled, military-directed, discreet, and sophisticated - but as it really is: anarchic, chaotic, dangerous, and often thrilling.

Product Details
ISBN: 9781668629178
ISBN-10: 1668629178
Publisher: Hachette Books
Publication Date: January 10th, 2023
Language: English