Maybe Maybe Marisol Rainey (Compact Disc) | Northshire Bookstore

Maybe Maybe Marisol Rainey (Compact Disc)

Staff Pick Badge
Maybe Maybe Marisol Rainey Cover Image
$29.99
Special Order

Staff Reviews


This cute book about a little girl overcoming her fears is a familiar story with a modern take. The fear of climbing the big tree in her backyard is center, but our gal Marisol is a relatable, imaginative character who must face several fears and worries. We also see her dealing with siblings, her family dynamics, bullies, and a best friend who is just the best. Based on Kelly’s life, ages 7 to 10 (and of course, adults) can enjoy. — Jeanette

May/June 2021 Kids Indie Next List


“Marisol really wants to climb her backyard tree but she is terrified! Really, what kid hasn’t ever needed to overcome a fear? Thank goodness Marisol has a best friend who loves and cheers for her, unconditionally. Short chapters and manageable sentences makes this a perfect first chapter book!”
— Stephanie Jalowiec, The Book Cabin (NY), Lake George, NY

Description


"Utterly endearing " --Annie Barrows, New York Times-bestselling author of the Ivy + Bean books

Hilarious and heart-melting." --Sara Pennypacker, New York Times-bestselling author of Pax

Introducing eight-year-old Marisol Rainey--an irresistible new character from Newbery Medalist and New York Times-bestselling Erin Entrada Kelly

Maybe, Maybe Marisol Rainey is a novel about summer, friendship, and overcoming fears, told with warm humor and undeniable appeal. Fans of Clementine, The Year of Billy Miller, and Ramona the Pest will be thrilled to meet Marisol.

Marisol Rainey's mother was born in the Philippines. Marisol's father works and lives part-time on an oil rig in the Gulf of Mexico. And Marisol, who has a big imagination and likes to name inanimate objects, has a tree in her backyard she calls Peppina . . . but she's way too scared to climb it. This all makes Marisol the only girl in her small Louisiana town with a mother who was born elsewhere and a father who lives elsewhere (most of the time)--the only girl who's fearful of adventure and fun.

Will Marisol be able to salvage her summer and have fun with Jada, her best friend? Maybe. Will Marisol figure out how to get annoying Evie Smythe to leave her alone? Maybe. Will Marisol ever get to spend enough real time with her father? Maybe. Will Marisol find the courage to climb Peppina? Maybe.

Told in short chapters, Maybe, Maybe Marisol Rainey is a must-have for early elementary grade readers. Erin Entrada Kelly celebrates the small but mighty Marisol, the joys of friendship, and the triumph of overcoming your fears in this stunning new novel for readers of Kevin Henkes, Meg Medina, Andrew Clements, Sara Pennypacker, and Kate DiCamillo.



Product Details
ISBN: 9781665076968
ISBN-10: 1665076968
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publication Date: May 4th, 2021
Language: English