You Should Have Known: A Novel (Hardcover)

You Should Have Known: A Novel By Rebecca A. Keller Cover Image
$29.99
IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 3-7 Business Days

Description


Perfect for fans of Helene Tursten and Caroline B. Cooney, a grieving grandmother turns to murder in Rebecca Keller’s taut debut mystery that explores the bonds of family and the grudges we refuse to let go.

When retired nurse Frannie Greene moves into a senior living apartment, she finds a compelling friendship with her new neighbor Katherine, only to discover that Katherine is married to the judge who Frannie believes is implicated in the death of her beloved granddaughter.

Observing the medication cart sparks Frannie’s darkest imagination, and her desire for revenge combines with her medical expertise. In one dreadful, impulsive moment, she tampers with the medicine. However, the next day, someone is dead, and Frannie realizes the gravity of what she’s done.

The police get involved, and suspicions gather around someone Frannie knows to be innocent. Wracked with remorse, Frannie’s anxiety becomes unbearable. As she works to make it right, Frannie discovers that things are more complicated than they seem.

She’s spent years aching for accountability from people in power. Is she the one who now needs to be held culpable? What really happened that night?

About the Author


Rebecca A. Keller is an award-winning writer, an internationally exhibited artist, a college professor, a Fulbright Artist/Scholar, and recipient of grants from National Endowment for the Arts, Illinois Arts Council, and College Art Association.

Praise For…


Praise for You Should Have Known:
“Nicely observed . . . carefully crafted plot.”
Publishers Weekly

“A beautifully drawn psychological literary thriller—and an accomplished first novel . . . An immensely thought-provoking psychological portrait that explores themes of what is right and what is just.” 
Shelf Awareness, starred review

“This deftly crafted thriller of a read will have a very special appeal to fans of riveting psychological suspense fiction . . . highly recommended.”
Midwest Book Review

“A solid, fun debut novel from author Keller.”
Red Carpet Crash

“Who cares about the gentle death of an elderly woman in a retirement community? You will—desperately—as you dive into the marvelous mystery at the heart of You Should Have Known. This book kept me up past my bedtime, frantically turning pages, shocked and delighted by each new twist.”
—Abby Geni, award-winning author of The Lightkeepers

“Unputdownable! This plot is so beautifully crafted! Never underestimate an elderly lady . . .”
—Helene Tursten, author of An Elderly Lady Must Not be Crossed

“This book winds and uncoils like a spring. Keenly observed, bittersweet and wise—like getting coffee with a lifelong friend. You should be reading!”
—Eliza Nellums, author of All That’s Bright and Gone and The Bone Cay

You Should Have Known is a terrific debut mystery—yet it's also a thoughtful story about the indignities of aging in the face of greater wisdom and deeply held regrets. Readers will fall in love with Frannie Greene and root for her to heal from an unimaginable family tragedy.”
—Lynne Reeves, author of Dark Rivers to Cross


Product Details
ISBN: 9781639102600
ISBN-10: 1639102604
Publisher: Crooked Lane Books
Publication Date: April 4th, 2023
Pages: 320
Language: English