Jackaby (Paperback)

Staff Pick Badge
Jackaby Cover Image
$9.95
In Stock
Northshire Saratoga
1 on hand, as of Apr 7 1:01pm
(Children - Young Adult)

Other Books in Series

This is book number 1 in the Jackaby series.


Staff Reviews


“Miss Rook, I am not an occultist,” Jackaby said. “I have a gift that allows me to see truth where others see the illusion--and there are many illusions. All the world’s a stage, as they say, and I seem to have the only seat in the house with a view behind the curtain.”
Think Sherlock, with a supernatural twist. We meet Jackaby at the same time as Abigail Rook, a young girl who has run away from home in search of adventure, and when she becomes his new assistant the shenanigans begin. Fast paced, quirky and delightful. I devoured it in one sitting! — Becky Doherty

When Abigail arrives in New England, she takes a job with the eccentric Jackaby, a Holmesian detective who can see otherworldly creatures. Jackaby's world is an adventure for Abigail, but will she survive their bloody investigation? A roaring mystery that's blood-chilling and humorous, with a touch of the fantastic. A perfect fit for fans of Sherlock and Enola Holmes! — Marika McCoola

Description


“Sherlock Holmes crossed with Buffy the Vampire Slayer.” —Chicago Tribune

Newly arrived in New Fiddleham, New England, 1892, and in need of a job, Abigail Rook meets R. F. Jackaby, an investigator of the unexplained with a keen eye for the extraordinary--including the ability to see supernatural beings. Abigail has a gift for noticing ordinary but important details, which makes her perfect for the position of Jackaby’s assistant. On her first day, Abigail finds herself in the midst of a thrilling case: A serial killer is on the loose. The police are convinced it’s an ordinary villain, but Jackaby is certain the foul deeds are the work of the kind of creature whose very existence the local authorities--with the exception of a handsome young detective named Charlie Cane--seem adamant to deny.

“The rich world of this debut demands sequels.” —Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“We honestly couldn’t put it down.” —Nerdist.com

“Toss together an alternate 19th-century New England city, a strong tradition of Sherlockian pastiche, and one seriously ugly hat, and this lighthearted and assured debut emerges, all action and quirk.” —Publishers Weekly


• A Top Ten Fall ’14 Kids’ Indie Next Pick
• A 2014 Kirkus Reviews Best Book for Young Adults
• A 2015 YALSA Top Ten Best Fiction for Young Adults Title
• A 2015 Pacific Northwest Book Award Winner
• A 2015–2016 Georgia Peach Award Nominee
• A Junior Library Guild Selection

About the Author


William Ritter is an Oregon author and educator. He is the proud father of the two bravest boys in the Wild Wood, and husband to the indomitable Queen of the Deep Dark.The Oddmireis Ritter’s first series for middle-grade readers. He is also the author of the New York Times bestselling, award-winning Jackaby series for young adult readers. Visit him online at rwillritter.wordpress.com and find him on Twitter: @Willothewords.

Praise For…


“With tension as taut as a high wire, this series blends laugh-out-loud humor and ghastly horror with supernatural skill. You don’t have to read the first book to enjoy this one, but we highly recommend it because reading the series is straight-up fun. Perfect for fans of Harry Potter, Grimm and Sherlock Holmes.”—Justine Magazine

“Ritter’s debut skillfully blends science with the supernatural and balances whimsy with violence. The smartly paced plot wraps up neatly, but the rich world of this debut demands sequels.” —Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“Toss together an alternate 19th-century New England city, a strong tradition of Sherlockian pastiche, and one seriously ugly hat, and this lighthearted and assured debut emerges, all action and quirk.” —Publishers Weekly


Product Details
ISBN: 9781616205461
ISBN-10: 1616205466
Publisher: Algonquin Young Readers
Publication Date: August 25th, 2015
Pages: 320
Language: English
Series: Jackaby
Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Daily 10am-6pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990
Daily 10am-6pm
Directions to Saratoga Springs