Rescue (Paperback)

Staff Pick Logo
Rescue Cover Image
List Price: $19.50
Our Price: $14.50
(Save: $5.00 26%)
In Stock
Northshire Manchester
36 on hand, as of Jan 17 8:45am
(Shire Press)

Staff Reviews


A thrilling, touching adventure that follows one remarkable dog's journey back to her beloved owner. War veteran Dirck Hansen suffers from severe PTSD and is on the verge of self-destruction when he meets Chauncey, a service dog who eases his anxiety and offers him the potential for healing. With Chauncey by his side, Dirck's life regains normalcy, but a fateful day at the park alters the course of their bond. As Dirck begins a desperate search for his lost dog, Chauncey sets out on her own adventure through New England wilderness and cold city streets. Beautifully written and powerfully told, this story speaks to the unshakeable, enduring bond between man and dog. Fans of The Call of the Wild and The Incredible Journey will love this book!

— Cathy Taylor

Description


RESCUE is the remarkable and heartfelt story of a war veteran, Captain Dirck Hansen, who lives in his confined world of PTSD but an extraordinary service dog, Chauncey, transforms him heart and soul. But one day, his dog vanishes, forging a two-year harrowing odyssey that both man and dog must endure. Hope grows from despair in this gripping but charming story of a man and his beloved dog. RESCUE illustrates the resiliency and imagination of dogs, the remarkable bond they have with the disabled, and ultimately, the greatness that all dogs bring to our lives.

About the Author


Christopher Dant is a professional writer and studied fiction at Stanford University's Creative Writing Program. In 2001, he published a collection of short stories, Appalachian Waltz, and has taught creative writing at Dartmouth College and Green Mountain Academy. He lives in Vermont with his wife Maureen and Golden Retriever. This is his first novel.


Product Details
ISBN: 9781605714257
ISBN-10: 1605714259
Publisher: Shirespress
Publication Date: June 28th, 2018
Pages: 260
Language: English
Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Saratoga Springs