Mad Scientist Academy: The Ocean Disaster (Hardcover)

Mad Scientist Academy: The Ocean Disaster Cover Image
$17.99
In Stock
Northshire Manchester
3 on hand, as of Jul 22 8:40am
(Children - Science - Oceans)
Northshire Saratoga
4 on hand, as of Jul 22 8:40am
(Children - Science - Oceans)

Description


Fans of Ada Twist, Scientist will want to join Dr. Cosmic's class of clever monsters as they explore the dark depths of the ocean in the fourth book of the Mad Scientist Academy series.

The students in Dr. Cosmic's class take their lessons underwater when they're introduced to his latest invention, the SKWID--a special submarine that explores the ocean and looks like a real giant squid!

With the guidance of oceanographer Professor Fathom, the class embarks on an exploration of the deep sea. Their next assignment? Identify the smallest producers and consumers of the ocean.

But when a giant whale approaches the SKWID, mistaking it for an actual squid, the students must use their trusted scientific handbooks to find a way to escape the submarine and return to the undersea lab--before they become the whale's lunch!

Don't miss more from the Mad Scientist Academy series!--The Dinosaur Disaster, The Weather Disaster, and The Space Disaster.

"Dr. Cosmic is plainly a colleague of Ms. Frizzle [of The Magic School Bus], and the mix of pithy banter, tumultuous field-trip mishaps, and science fact is as familiar as it is winning. Fans of the Frizz will be dino-delighted. Mad fun." --Kirkus Reviews, starred review of Mad Scientist Academy: The Dinosaur Disaster

About the Author


Matthew McElligott is the author of many books for children, including the Mad Scientist Academy series, Even Monsters Need Haircuts, and the Benjamin Franklinstein series. Like the ocean shore, he is shallow and often quite crabby. In spite of this, a beautiful woman named Christy married him and now helps him with all his books. You can follow him on Twitter at @Matt_McElligott, or visit him at matthewmcelligott.com.

Praise For…


Praise for Mad Scientist Academy: The Space Disaster
"Young readers can only hope for this much excitement on their real field trips." —Kirkus Reviews

"[A] space adventure that young readers will pore over, learn from, and enjoy." —School Library Journal


Praise for Mad Scientist Academy: The Weather Disaster

“With outlandish situations rendering scientific concepts memorable, McElligott has concocted a winning formula for learning as entertainment.” —Kirkus Reviews

"Engaging and educational." —Booklist
 
“There’s enough fun here for anyone.” —School Library Journal
 
“No need for MSA kids to take a field trip: what could be more interesting than school?” —The Bulletin


Praise for Mad Scientist Academy: The Dinosaur Disaster

“Dr. Cosmic is plainly a colleague of Ms. Frizzle, and the mix of pithy banter, tumultuous field-trip mishaps, and science fact is as familiar as it is winning. Fans of the Frizz will be dino-delighted. Mad fun.” —Kirkus Reviews, Starred

“Like Joanna Cole and Bruce Degen’s ‘Magic School Bus’ series (Scholastic), the use of a school setting, a quirky teacher, and wild hands-on learning situations provides an engaging blend of humor, adventure, and information.” —School Library Journal

“One of Summer’s Must-Read Children’s Books.” —Bookish.com

Kids’ Indie Next List


Product Details
ISBN: 9781524767198
ISBN-10: 1524767190
Publisher: Crown Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: July 9th, 2019
Pages: 40
Series: Mad Scientist Academy
Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990
Sun-Mon 10am-7pm Tue-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Saratoga Springs