Tomboy: A Graphic Memoir (Compact Disc)

Staff Pick Badge
Tomboy: A Graphic Memoir By Liz Prince, Erin Yuen (Narrated by), Christina Morales Hemenway (Narrated by) Cover Image
By Liz Prince, Erin Yuen (Narrated by), Christina Morales Hemenway (Narrated by)
$39.99
Special Order

Staff Reviews


Fans of Drama and Smile will love this graphic novel memoir! Follow Liz from K-12th grade, watch as she goes from happy Ghostbusting kid to an angsty comic-drawing teen! It's a long tough road full of bullies and self-discovery, of being forced to wear dressed and always called "tomboy".
Great read for kids 12+ (Liz's teen years have some some swearing and drugs mentioned), or adults who loved the graphic novel memoir Fun Home!

— Leah Moore

Description


Growing up, Liz Prince wasn't a girly girl, dressing in pink tutus or playing Pretty Pretty princess like the other girls in her neighborhood. But she wasn't exactly one of the guys either, as she quickly learned when her Little League baseball coach exiled her to the outfield instead of letting her take the pitcher's mound. Liz was somewhere in the middle, and Tomboy is the story of her struggle to find the place where she belonged. Tomboy is a graphic novel about refusing gender boundaries, yet unwittingly embracing gender stereotypes at the same time, and realizing later in life that you can be just as much of a girl in jeans and a T-shirt as you can in a pink tutu. and explores her ever-evolving struggles and wishes regarding what it means to be a girl.


Product Details
ISBN: 9781520031385
ISBN-10: 1520031386
Publisher: Dreamscape Media
Publication Date: July 19th, 2016
Language: English