Symptoms of Being Human Lib/E (Compact Disc)

Staff Pick Badge
Symptoms of Being Human Lib/E Cover Image
By Jeff Garvin, Tom Phelan (Read by)
$59.99
Special Order

Staff Reviews


Gender-fluid teen, Riley comes to terms with the one thing that tends to be pretty solid, ones sexuality. Yet Riley never really has the compass needle pointing to one solid gender….it bounces back and forth, depending on the day, mood and events around them. In hopes of coming to an understanding of who they are, and to fulfill their therapist’s request of possibly starting a blog, Riley starts an online journal that takes on a life of its own. Dealing with contemporary issues, Garvin adds to the novels of the new teen. — Jeanette

Riley is a teen struggling with moving to a new high school, being the child of a congressman during a busy election season, and coming to terms with being a gender fluid individual. This is a book every teenager should read to learn compassion and understanding for others who fall outside of the socially accepted norm. A compelling read that will keep you hooked from the very first page! — Laura Knapp

Description


A sharply honest and moving debut perfect for fans of The Perks of Being a Wallflower and Ask the Passengers.

Riley Cavanaugh is many things: Punk rock. Snarky. Rebellious. And gender fluid. Some days Riley identifies as a boy, and others as a girl. But Riley isn't exactly out yet. And between starting a new school and having a congressman father running for reelection in ber-conservative Orange County, the pressure--media and otherwise--is building up in Riley's life.

On the advice of a therapist, Riley starts an anonymous blog to vent those pent-up feelings and tell the truth of what it's really like to be a gender fluid teenager. But just as Riley's starting to settle in at school--even developing feelings for a mysterious outcast--the blog goes viral, and an unnamed commenter discovers Riley's real identity, threatening exposure. And Riley must make a choice: walk away from what the blog has created--a lifeline, new friends, a cause to believe in--or stand up, come out, and risk everything.

From debut author Jeff Garvin comes a powerful and uplifting portrait of a modern teen struggling with high school, relationships, and what it means to be a person.



Product Details
ISBN: 9781504695282
ISBN-10: 1504695283
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publication Date: February 2nd, 2016
Language: English
Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Daily 10am-6pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990
Daily 10am-6pm
Directions to Saratoga Springs