Small Walt (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Logo
Small Walt Cover Image
By Elizabeth Verdick, Marc Rosenthal (Illustrator)
$17.99
In Stock
Northshire Manchester
2 on hand, as of Jul 19 9:15am
(Children - Picture Books)
Northshire Saratoga
3 on hand, as of Jul 19 9:15am
(Children - Toddler - Vehicles)

Staff Reviews


Reminiscent of The Little Engine That Could and The Little Blue Truck, Small Walt will warm your heart! Mark Rosenthal's nostalgic illustrations, bring Virginia Lee Burton to mind and are the perfect complement to this charming, "sure-to-be-a-classic" story of the "gentle might of the little guy".

— Patricia Vunk

Description


"It's a perfect book for revving up small helpers to pitch in with the shoveling."--The Wall Street Journal

"Charming and endearing." --Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

"The grit of The Little Engine that Could, the nostalgic illustrations of Katy and the Big Snow, and a touch of modernity from an accomplished author and illustrator, combine to become Small Walt." --School Library Journal

A tiny snowplow determined to prove his worth battles a blizzard in this supremely charming story in the tradition of Mike Mulligan and His Steam Shovel and The Little Engine that Could.

My name is Walt,
I plow and I salt.
They say I'm small,
but I'll show them all.

Small Walt and his driver, Gus, take on a blizzard All the bigger snowplows doubt that Walt has what it takes to plow the roads in the storm, but Walt is determined to prove them wrong.

Brimming with onomatopoeia and Walt's affirming chants, this sweet picture book shows that when it comes to strength, size doesn't matter. Bestselling illustrator Marc Rosenthal's wintry scenes make this book the perfect cozy read-aloud.


Product Details
ISBN: 9781481448451
ISBN-10: 1481448455
Publisher: Simon & Schuster/Paula Wiseman Books
Publication Date: October 31st, 2017
Pages: 40
Language: English
Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990
Sun-Thu 10am-9pm Fri-Sat 10am-10pm
Directions to Saratoga Springs