Firekeeper's Daughter (Large Print / Library Binding)

Staff Pick Badge
Firekeeper's Daughter Cover Image
$24.99
IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 1-5 Business Days

Staff Reviews


I am so excited about this book! Set in a contemporary Ojibwe Reservation on the northern border with Canada, this book is about living in many worlds and crossing all kinds of borders. A mystery within a novel that also deals with critical issues and cultural biases of acculturation and prejudice. Appropriate for young adult readers and written in the tradition of Louise Erdrich or Tommy Orange, this novel is an intricate, multi-faceted debut by Boulley (member of the Ojibwe tribe herself) that had me waking up in the middle of the night to read another chapter. — Maeve Noonan

The Firekeeper’s Daughter is perhaps one of the most ambitious and impactful young adult books I’ve ever read. This debut follows 18-year-old Daunis, a biracial Native American that feels both connected and disconnected to the white and indigenous sides of her family, and gets involved in a widescope FBI drug investigation related to drug use and deaths within her community. Part crime-mystery, part coming-of-age, this book shines a light on the trauma of the past--both Daunis’ trauma and the violence inflicted on Native American tribes for centuries--while also breaking your heart every chapter with loss, violence and grief that goes on with unrequited justice. And yet, when you reach the end of this beautiful book, you’ll find yourself feeling an immense amount of love and hope for Daunis and her family. Finished it in one day, but this book will be on my mind forever.

Kirstin Swartz

Spring 2021 Kids Indie Next List


“This debut grabbed me from the start and kept me totally immersed in the story of a strong, self-described nerdy young female struggling with the normal problems of belonging, with the added element of being half Native American. This novel offers a rich combination of a young person’s struggle with identity plus the unique challenges of being associated with a tribe and the problems of meth use and addiction. Add in a pulse-pounding mystery on top of it, and you have a true page-turner.”
— Carol Putnam, Skylark Bookshop, Columbia, MO

About the Author


Angeline Boulley, an enrolled member of the Sault Ste. Marie Tribe of Chippewa Indians, is a storyteller who writes about her Ojibwe community in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. She is a former Director of the Office of Indian Education at the U.S. Department of Education. Angeline lives in southwest Michigan, but her home will always be on Sugar Island. Firekeeper's Daughter is her debut novel.


Product Details
ISBN: 9781432890575
ISBN-10: 1432890573
Large Print: Yes
Publisher: Thorndike Striving Reader
Publication Date: September 29th, 2021
Pages: 835
Language: English