Piranesi (Large Print / Library Binding)

Staff Pick Badge
Piranesi By Susanna Clarke Cover Image
$32.99
IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 3-7 Business Days

Staff Reviews


Piranesi, though that’s not his name, lives in a house with no end, by himself, save for a few fish and birds, and a once-weekly visit from someone he calls “the Other”. The house, with vast white marble rooms, full of statues and columns, goes on for infinity through halls, corridors, and courtyards, and exists on three levels, the lower floors are home to an ocean with its unique tidal flow, the upper floors are in the clouds, and in the middle is Piranesi’s world. Piranesi is blissfully happy, and perfectly in balance with his world, a master of its internal seasons and its idiosyncrasies, until the day “the Oracle” unexpectedly arrives and then all he thinks he knows begins to unravel. A work of genius!

Becky Doherty

Wow, this one was an unexpected gem! Our story follows a man called Piranesi who lives in a labyrinth of a house, with halls upon halls and haunting statues and entire seas. He spends his days exploring the house- monitoring the tides and mapping the stars, charting each hall and unearthing the infinite wonders inside. This story is like a puzzle box, and bit by bit we learn more and more about Piranesi’s otherworldly home and how it came to be.
Reading this book gave me the same feelings as reading Harry Potter as a child- filled with warmth, wonder, and magic. Finishing it felt like waking from a spectral dream that you just want to close your eyes and return to. I’ve never read anything like it before, and this charming and quirky little book has earned a place among my most memorable and special reads. — Madison Gallup

This is a wonderful book. Piranesi is so endearing and completely lovely and I will be returning to his story and his world many times. This story is absolutely masterful, beautifully strange and unusual, and I already want to read it again. — Arabella Peterson

September 2020 Indie Next List


“It was more than 15 years ago that Susanna Clarke built a wing on the edifice of fantasy fiction unlike any seen before in the form of a debut novel called Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell. After so long, I’d be grateful for any new work from her, but I’m unspeakably glad that she’s again constructed something entirely new. Piranesi has a smaller footprint than her previous novel, but makes more efficient use of space, cramming an entire unsettling universe into a book far bigger on the inside than it is out.”
— James Crossley, Madison Books, Seattle, WA

Winter 2022 Reading Group Indie Next List


“This beguiling story proves that a slim novel can be epic in scope, and that complex is not the same as abtruse. The mystery surrounding Piranesi and the House he lives in immediately draws one in. An engaging and thought-provoking novel.”
— Keith Glaeske, East City Bookshop, Washington, DC

Description


New York Times Bestseller

From the New York Times bestselling author of Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell, an intoxicating, hypnotic new novel set in a dreamlike alternative reality.

Piranesi's house is no ordinary building: its rooms are infinite, its corridors endless, its walls are lined with thousands upon thousands of statues, each one different from all the others. Within the labyrinth of halls an ocean is imprisoned; waves thunder up staircases, rooms are flooded in an instant. But Piranesi is not afraid; he understands the tides as he understands the pattern of the labyrinth itself. He lives to explore the house.

There is one other person in the house--a man called The Other, who visits Piranesi twice a week and asks for help with research into A Great and Secret Knowledge. But as Piranesi explores, evidence emerges of another person, and a terrible truth begins to unravel, revealing a world beyond the one Piranesi has always known.

For readers of Neil Gaiman's The Ocean at the End of the Lane and fans of Madeline Miller's Circe, Piranesi introduces an astonishing new world, an infinite labyrinth, full of startling images and surreal beauty, haunted by the tides and the clouds.

About the Author


Susanna Clarke is the author of the The Ladies of Grace Adieu and Other Stories and the New York Times bestseller and Hugo Award-winning Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell. She lives in England.


Product Details
ISBN: 9781432886578
ISBN-10: 1432886576
Large Print: Yes
Publisher: Thorndike Press Large Print
Publication Date: April 28th, 2021
Pages: 365
Language: English