Maresi: The Red Abbey Chronicles Book 1 (Paperback)

Staff Pick Logo
Maresi: The Red Abbey Chronicles Book 1 Cover Image
In Stock
Northshire Manchester
3 on hand, as of Mar 19 8:45am
(Children - Young Adult)
Northshire Saratoga
1 on hand, as of Mar 19 8:45am
(Children - Young Adult)

Staff Reviews

Welcome to the Red Abbey- a sanctuary built by powerful sisters for girls escaping the world of men. Embued with myth, wonder and told with a compelling ferocity- this is perfect for fans of Ursula LeGuin or His Fair Assassin Trilogy.

— Martha Cornwell

— Abrams Books


Only women and girls are allowed in the Red Abbey, a haven from abuse and poverty. Maresi, a thirteen-year-old novice who fled famine and loss four years prior, is happy in the abbey, safe under the protection of the Mother, contentedly doing her chores and stealing time in the vast library of the House of Knowledge. But then Jai, a girl with a dark past, disrupts Maresi's idyllic existence.

Jai has escaped her home after watching her father and brothers bury her beloved sister alive in an honor killing. And when the dangers of the outside world follow Jai into the sacred space of the abbey, Maresi can no longer hide behind her books and routines--she must act.

About the Author

Maria Turtschaninoff began writing fairy tales at the age of five. She has been awarded the Finlandia Junior Prize, the Swedish YLE Literature Prize, and two Society of Swedish Literature Prizes. She is also an Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award finalist. Turtschaninoff has a master of arts in human ecology and works full-time as a writer. She lives in Finland.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781419726989
ISBN-10: 1419726986
Publisher: Amulet Books
Publication Date: January 9th, 2018
Pages: 272
Language: English
Series: Red Abbey Chronicles
Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Saratoga Springs