El Deafo (Paperback)

Staff Pick Badge
El Deafo Cover Image
$12.99
In Stock
Northshire Manchester
4 on hand, as of Mar 30 6:01pm
(Children - Graphic Novels)
Northshire Saratoga
3 on hand, as of Mar 30 6:01pm
(Children - Graphic Novels)

Staff Reviews


— Abrams Books

When Cece goes deaf at the age of 4, her life changes, but she is still a kid, struggling with everyday issues like what to wear, how to meet new friends. Being deaf makes her different, and her bulky hearing aid makes her stand out when she really just wants to fit in and find a true friend, someone who appreciates her as she is. Cece Bell tells the story of her own life from k-6th grade, in very readable graphic novel format. Great for fans of Wonder and Smile. — Leah Moore

Cece was struck deaf at the age of four. Navigating new neighborhoods, school, and friends was made even more difficult when she couldn't follow conversations, the radio, or tv. But when Cece gets the powerful Phonic Ear for school, it feels as if she's gained superpowers, allowing her to become El Deafo! But can El Deafo help her navigate school and friendship? A strong new graphic memoir for readers who loved Smile! — Marika McCoola

About the Author


Cece Bell is the author of the Newbery Honor Book and Eisner Award winner El Deafo, which received four starred reviews, was named a 2014 best book by Parents magazine, and is a New York Times bestseller. She is also the author of Rabbit and Robot, winner of a Geisel Honor. Cece lives with her husband, Tom Angleberger, in Christiansburg, Virginia. www.cecebell.wordpress.com.


Product Details
ISBN: 9781419712173
ISBN-10: 1419712179
Publisher: Harry N. Abrams
Publication Date: September 2nd, 2014
Pages: 248
Language: English
Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Daily 10am-6pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990
Daily 10am-6pm
Directions to Saratoga Springs