The Mountains Wild: A Mystery (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Badge
The Mountains Wild: A Mystery Cover Image
$27.99
In Stock
Northshire Manchester
22 on hand, as of Jul 14 5:31pm
(Mystery)
Northshire Saratoga
7 on hand, as of Jul 14 5:31pm
(Mystery)

Staff Reviews


This is a good cozy mystery full of twists and turns like the Wicklow Mountains themselves and Dublin where the story is set. Erin, an Irish American, and her cousin are caught in a murder mystery that spans 23 years and 2 continents. — Maeve Noonan

A series debut that fans of Kate Atkinson or Tana French would like and set in Dublin and New York. When new evidence appears in Dublin Detective Maggie D’arcy findsand the re-opening of the investigation into the disappearance of her cousin 23 years which occurred earlier. This is an interesting story meshing both an active and a cold case, in the windswept and brooding terrain around Dublin. The writer conveys the scenes perfectly and grabs you from the very beginning, all the way to the surprise ending. A must read! — Tambra Johnson Reap

Description


"With its evocative Dublin setting, lyrical prose, tough but sympathetic heroine, and a killer twist in the plot, Sarah Stewart Taylor's The Mountains Wild should top everyone's must-read lists this year!" — New York Times bestselling author Deborah Crombie

In a series debut for fans of Tana French and Kate Atkinson, set in Dublin and New York, homicide detective Maggie D'arcy finally tackles the case that changed the course of her life.

Twenty-three years ago, Maggie D'arcy's family received a call from the Dublin police. Her cousin Erin has been missing for several days. Maggie herself spent weeks in Ireland, trying to track Erin's movements, working beside the police. But it was to no avail: no trace of her was ever found.

The experience inspired Maggie to become a cop. Now, back on Long Island, more than 20 years have passed. Maggie is a detective and a divorced mother of a teenager. When the Gardaí call to say that Erin's scarf has been found and another young woman has gone missing, Maggie returns to Ireland, awakening all the complicated feelings from the first trip. The despair and frustration of not knowing what happened to Erin. Her attraction to Erin's coworker, now a professor, who never fully explained their relationship. And her determination to solve the case, once and for all.

A lyrical, deeply drawn portrait of a woman - and a country - over two decades - The Mountains Wild introduces a compelling new mystery series from a mesmerizing author.

About the Author


SARAH STEWART TAYLOR is the author of the Sweeney St. George series and the Maggie D'arcy series. Taylor grew up on Long Island in New York and was educated at Middlebury College in Vermont and Trinity College in Dublin. She lived in Dublin, Ireland in the mid-90s and she now lives with her family on a farm in Vermont where they raise sheep and grow blueberries.

Praise For…


Advance Praise for The Mountains Wild

“This mystery, evocative of the Irish diaspora, interrogates both a young woman’s disappearance and the meaning of homeland.”Kirkus Reviews

“Taylor’s affection for Irish geography, history, and culture suffuses the tale, adding texture and atmosphere. Fans of Elizabeth George should take note.” Publishers Weekly

"Sarah Stewart Taylor has written a beautiful, bittersweet novel about loyalty and loss and how they can blind us to the truth."Minneapolis Star Tribune

“Layers of Dublin details will ensnare biblio-travelers, and this series starter offers a compelling introduction to Maggie D’arcy as she faces her life’s mystery . . . Taylor, a mystery veteran, shifts into noirish territory after her humorous Sweeney St. George series, and it works just fine.” Booklist

"The Mountains Wild makes for perfect summer reading. Maggie is a first-class protagonist—an ace investigator and appealing everywoman with smarts and heart. Suspense fans are sure to welcome her to the crime scene."BookPage

“The atmospheric, intricately plotted story builds to a stunning, unforgettable conclusion. This series starter by the Agatha-nominated author of O’ Artful Death introduces an intelligent detective caught up in a personal cold case . . . Taylor skillfully switches time periods from 1993 to 2016 in an atmospheric mystery that blends the history and romance of Ireland with a contemporary police investigation.” Library Journal (starred review)

"Lyrical, moody, THE MOUNTAINS WILD unfolds like an Irish ballad, at turns stirring, tender and tragic. Sarah Stewart Taylor has written a book as much about the mysteries of the human heart as the questions surrounding the long-missing woman at the silent center of the tale. A triumphant return to the genre." — New York Times bestselling author Julia Spencer Fleming

"Atmospheric and lyrical, THE MOUNTAINS WILD is that rare thing — a riveting thriller with a beating heart. In this beautifully wrought portrait of love and family, secrets and lies, Sarah Stewart Taylor dives deep into character, all the while ratcheting up the suspense, page by gripping page, through to the stunning end." — New York Times bestselling author Lisa Unger

"A tale of suspense, gorgeously told, eerily atmospheric, set in an Ireland so vivid you can smell the peat smoke. Not to be missed.” International bestselling author Michele Campbell

"The Mountains Wild has all the ingredients you'd want in a tasty thriller — twisted plots, uncertainty about who to trust, dogged investigators and a gripping climax — but it also has two extra spices. First, the setting of Ireland is so vivid and precise, you can practically taste the pints and smell the peat fires. Second, this novel has incredible tenderness and emotional accuracy. This is a thriller with a big heart." — Stephen P. Kiernan



Product Details
ISBN: 9781250256430
ISBN-10: 1250256437
Publisher: Minotaur Books
Publication Date: June 23rd, 2020
Pages: 416
Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Daily 10am-6pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990
Daily 10am-6pm
Directions to Saratoga Springs