Edgar and Lucy (Paperback)

Staff Pick Logo
Edgar and Lucy Cover Image
$18.00
In Stock
Northshire Manchester
12 on hand, as of Feb 16 8:45am
(Fiction)
Northshire Saratoga
2 on hand, as of Feb 16 8:45am
(Fiction)

Staff Reviews


Edgar and Lucy is a wonderful book with a cast of unforgettable characters navigating their way through life amidst all the burdens of grief, love, loss. It’s a mesmerizing story, the kind you want to curl up with and savor for hours! — Liz Barnum

For fans of The Story of Edgar Sawtelle and Fates & Furies. I loved this book!

— Whitney Kaaz

Description


"On every page Lodato's prose sings with a robust, openhearted wit, making Edgar & Lucy a delight to read...Lodato keeps us in his thrall because his grip on the tiller stays reassuringly firm. Not to mention the supporting cast he's gathered, a group so eclectic and beguiling that many of them could carry an entire novel of their own. A riveting and exuberant ride."--Cynthia D'Aprix-Sweeney, The New York Times Book Review

"Wonder-filled and magisterial...Lodato's skill as a poet manifests itself on every page, delighting with such elegant similes and incisive descriptions...His skill as a playwright shines in every piece of dialogue...And his skill as a fiction writer displays itself in his virtuoso command of point of view. The book pushes the boundaries of beauty."--Chicago Tribune

"Edgar isn't like other boys and Lucy isn't like other moms, but grandma Florence keeps them tied to reality. And then their lives take a sharp turn...This otherworldly tale will haunt you."--People

"A stunningly rendered novel."--Entertainment Weekly

"A quirky coming-of-age novel that deepens into something dark and strange without losing its heart or its sense of wonder."--Tom Perrotta, bestselling author of The Leftovers

Edgar and Lucy is a page-turning literary masterpiece?a stunning examination of family love and betrayal.
Eight-year-old Edgar Fini remembers nothing of the accident people still whisper about. He only knows that his father is gone, his mother has a limp, and his grandmother believes in ghosts. When Edgar meets a man with his own tragic story, the boy begins a journey into a secret wilderness where nothing is clear?not even the line between the living and the dead. In order to save her son, Lucy has no choice but to confront the demons of her past.

Profound, shocking, and beautiful, Edgar and Lucy is a thrilling adventure and the unlikeliest of love stories.

"This tale gradually exerts a fiendish grip on the reader." ? Helen Simonson, author of Major Pettigrew's Last Stand

"I tore through the luminous pages of Edgar and Lucy as if possessed...What this book has to say about love and truth will stay with me for a very, very long time."--Sophie McManus, author of The Unfortunates

"I love this book. Profoundly spiritual and hilariously specific...an unusual and intimate epic that manages to capture the wonder and terror of both child and parenthood with an uncanny clarity."--Lena Dunham, bestselling author of Not That Kind of Girl

"Victor Lodato may be our bard of the sadness, humor, and confusion of loss. He senses the absurdities and elation of mourning and childhood with a capacious precision that brings to mind J.D. Salinger, Lorrie Moore, Karen Russell, even James Joyce. Edgar and Lucy will make you feel things you haven't felt in ages."--Daniel Torday, author of The Last Flight of Poxl West

About the Author


VICTOR LODATO is a playwright and the author of the novel Mathilda Savitch, winner of the PEN Center USA Award for fiction. His stories and essays have appeared in The New Yorker, The New York Times, Granta, and Best American Short Stories. He is the recipient of fellowships from the Guggenheim Foundation and the National Endowment for the Arts. Victor was born and raised in New Jersey and currently divides his time between Ashland, Oregon, and Tucson, Arizona.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781250096999
ISBN-10: 1250096995
Publisher: Picador USA
Publication Date: February 13th, 2018
Pages: 544
Language: English
Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Saratoga Springs