Edgar and Lucy (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Logo
Edgar and Lucy Cover Image
$27.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Staff Reviews


Edgar and Lucy is a wonderful book with a cast of unforgettable characters navigating their way through life amidst all the burdens of grief, love, loss. It’s a mesmerizing story, the kind you want to curl up with and savor for hours! — Liz Barnum

For fans of The Story of Edgar Sawtelle and Fates & Furies. I loved this book!

— Whitney Kaaz

March 2017 Indie Next List


“Edgar and Lucy is about a terribly broken family that faces crisis after crisis yet never gives up trying to be a family. The main narrator is eight-year-old Edgar, a child brilliant beyond his years but who has a problem relating to almost everyone except his grandmother, Florence. Edgar's mother, Lucy, loves him in her own way but thanks to Florence, Lucy really doesn't need to make much of an effort. When Florence dies, everything changes. A stunning novel, dark at times, raw and bold, written with an uncanny feel for life and death, Edgar and Lucy kept me spellbound waiting for its conclusion but unwilling for the story to end.”
— Nancy McFarlane (E), Fiction Addiction, Greenville, SC

Description


"A riveting and exuberant ride." - Cynthia D'Aprix-Sweeney, The New York Times Book Review

"This otherworldly tale will haunt you." - People Magazine

"A stunningly rendered novel" - Entertainment Weekly

"A quirky coming-of-age novel that deepens into something dark and strange without losing its heart or its sense of wonder." - Tom Perrotta, bestselling author of The Leftovers

Edgar and Lucy is a page-turning literary masterpiece a stunning examination of family love and betrayal.
Eight-year-old Edgar Fini remembers nothing of the accident people still whisper about. He only knows that his father is gone, his mother has a limp, and his grandmother believes in ghosts. When Edgar meets a man with his own tragic story, the boy begins a journey into a secret wilderness where nothing is clear?not even the line between the living and the dead. In order to save her son, Lucy has no choice but to confront the demons of her past.

About the Author


VICTOR LODATO is a playwright and the author of the novel Mathilda Savitch, winner of the PEN Center USA Award for fiction. His stories and essays have appeared in The New Yorker, The New York Times, Granta, and Best American Short Stories. He is the recipient of fellowships from the Guggenheim Foundation and the National Endowment for the Arts. Victor was born and raised in New Jersey and currently divides his time between Ashland, Oregon, and Tucson, Arizona.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781250096982
ISBN-10: 1250096987
Publisher: St. Martin's Press
Publication Date: March 7th, 2017
Pages: 544
Language: English
Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Saratoga Springs