The City Baker's Guide to Country Living (Paperback)

Staff Pick Logo
The City Baker's Guide to Country Living Cover Image
$16.00
In Stock
Northshire Manchester
7 on hand, as of Nov 24 7:45am
(Fiction)
Northshire Saratoga
2 on hand, as of Nov 24 7:45am
(Fiction)

Staff Reviews


Like a perfect piece of warm apple pie! Miller's book is about finding family and your place in the world. Set in a fictional Vermont town the descriptions of the characters and place had me laughing out loud. The perfect end of summer read! — Martha Cornwell

A pastry chef finds solace in a sleepy Vermont town after accidentally setting her place of business on fire in the city. She slowly regains her confidence and allows her baking to guide her. Capturing a new outlook on friendships, love and life. I loved this book.

— Suzanne Rice

August 2016 Indie Next List


“This charming debut follows big-city baker Olivia Rawlings as she flees her cushy Boston job for small-town New England after accidentally setting her dessert -- and the building -- on fire. Along the way, she finds new friends, family, and a sense of belonging. Perfect for fans of Kitchens of the Great Midwest and Sarah Addison Allen, this is a comforting, big-hearted book that will enchant readers with its delightfully quirky characters, beautiful setting, and mouthwatering descriptions of baked goods.”
— Rebecca Speas (E), One More Page, Arlington, VA

Description


"Mix in one part Diane Mott -Davidson's delightful culinary adventures with several tablespoons of Jan Karon's country living and quirky characters, bake at 350 degrees for one rich and warm romance." --Library Journal

A full-hearted novel about a big-city baker who discovers the true meaning of home--and that sometimes the best things are found when you didn't even know you were looking

When Olivia Rawlings--pastry chef extraordinaire for an exclusive Boston dinner club--sets not just her flambeed dessert but the entire building alight, she escapes to the most comforting place she can think of--the idyllic town of Guthrie, Vermont, home of Bag Balm, the country's longest-running contra dance, and her best friend Hannah. But the getaway turns into something more lasting when Margaret Hurley, the cantankerous, sweater-set-wearing owner of the Sugar Maple Inn, offers Livvy a job. Broke and knowing that her days at the club are numbered, Livvy accepts.

Livvy moves with her larger-than-life, uberenthusiastic dog, Salty, into a sugarhouse on the inn's property and begins creating her mouthwatering desserts for the residents of Guthrie. She soon uncovers the real reason she has been hired--to help Margaret reclaim the inn's blue ribbon status at the annual county fair apple pie contest.

With the joys of a fragrant kitchen, the sound of banjos and fiddles being tuned in a barn, and the crisp scent of the orchard just outside the front door, Livvy soon finds herself immersed in small town life. And when she meets Martin McCracken, the Guthrie native who has returned from Seattle to tend his ailing father, Livvy comes to understand that she may not be as alone in this world as she once thought.

But then another new arrival takes the community by surprise, and Livvy must decide whether to do what she does best and flee--or stay and finally discover what it means to belong. Olivia Rawlings may finally find out that the life you want may not be the one you expected--it could be even better.

From the Hardcover edition.

About the Author


Louise Miller is a pastry chef who lives and works in Boston, MA. She received a scholarship to attend GrubStreet's Novel Incubator program, a yearlong workshop for novelists. She is an art school dropout, an amateur flower gardener, an old-time banjo player, an obsessive moviegoer, and a champion of old dogs. The City Baker's Guide to Country Living was her debut novel. The Late Bloomers' Club is her second novel.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781101981214
ISBN-10: 1101981210
Publisher: Penguin Books
Publication Date: November 7th, 2017
Pages: 352
Language: English
Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Saratoga Springs