Strange Exit (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Badge
Strange Exit Cover Image
$17.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Staff Reviews


Strange Exit is a futuristic YA post-apocalypse adventure, the plot mainly happening in a virtual reality that all the characters are trapped in, with the actual setting being in space after a disastrous nuclear event on earth. With elements and inspirations from The Matrix and The 100, this book is filled with many interesting characters, page-turning thrills, and excellent world-building. I want more! — Kirstin Swartz

Description


Strange Exit is Parker Peevyhouse's next suspenseful, near-future, stand-alone thriller, perfect for fans of Kass Morgan's The 100 and Patrick Ness's More Than This

Seventeen-year-old Lake spends her days searching a strange, post-apocalyptic landscape for people who have forgotten one very important thing: this isn’t reality. Everyone she meets is a passenger aboard a ship that’s been orbiting Earth since a nuclear event. The simulation that was supposed to prepare them all for life after the apocalypse has trapped their minds in a shared virtual reality and their bodies in stasis chambers.

No one can get off the ship until all of the passengers are out of the sim, and no one can get out of the sim unless they believe it's a simulation. It's up to Lake to help them remember.

When Lake reveals the truth to a fellow passenger, seventeen-year-old Taren, he joins her mission to find everyone, persuade them that they’ve forgotten reality, and wake them up. But time’s running out before the simulation completely deconstructs, and soon Taren’s deciding who’s worth saving and who must be sacrificed for the greater good. Now, Lake has no choice but to pit herself against Taren in a race to find the secret heart of the sim, where something waits that will either save them or destroy them all.

About the Author


Parker Peevyhouse is likely trying to solve a puzzle at this very moment, probably while enjoying In-N-Out fries, admiring redwood trees, and quoting movies about sentient robots. Parker's critically acclaimed collection of novellas for young adults, Where Futures End, was named a best book for teens by the New York Public Library, Chicago Public Library, and Bank Street. The Horn Book called it “a smart science-fiction puzzle.” Parker lives in the San Francisco Bay Area and works at Hicklebee’s Children’s Bookstore.

Praise For…


"This post-apocalyptic novel will have wide appeal amongst gamers and fans of this genre....Caught in a tangle of strangely surreal settings, readers will find themselves questioning what is real and what is a simulation." —School Library Connection

“The tension increases with each layer of reality Lake peels away. Compulsively readable.” —Booklist, starred review

"Strange Exit is an exciting entrée into science-fiction, a beautifully-written story sure to please the Trekkie, the X-Phile, or the most ardent of realists. Peevyhouse has invented a new genre: the VR space-romp. And I am very much here for it." —David Arnold, New York Times bestselling author of The Strange Fascinations of Noah Hypnotik

"The latest wildly imaginative novel from Parker Peevyhouse showcases her ability to create multiple alternate realities that ring true." —April Henry, New York Times bestselling author of The Girl I Used to Be

Praise for Parker Peevyhouse:
“A one-of-a-kind talent.” —Traci Chee, New York Times bestselling author of The Reader

“Peevyhouse is a master storyteller.” —Brittany Cavallaro, New York Times bestselling author of A Study in Charlotte

“Peevyhouse is a puzzle master.” —Aaron Starmer, author of The Riverman



Product Details
ISBN: 9780765399427
ISBN-10: 0765399423
Publisher: Tor Teen
Publication Date: January 14th, 2020
Pages: 288
Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Daily 10am-6pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990
Daily 10am-6pm
Directions to Saratoga Springs