The Raven Boys (Raven Cycle #1) (Prebound)

Staff Pick Badge
The Raven Boys (Raven Cycle #1) Cover Image
Special Order

Other Books in Series

This is book number 1 in the Raven Cycle series.

Staff Reviews

With a wonderful cast of quirky characters, rife with seers, graveyards and enough atmosphere to last for a very long time, this is a beautifully written, compelling read. While it has many elements of current trends in young adult literature, it stands alone due to the talent of the author. Highly recommended. — Jessica Wood

I read this book the day it came out in September 2012 and loved it so much I immediately read all of the author's previous books-- but it's The Raven Boys in particular that I have scarcely stopped thinking about since that day. Stiefvater's flawlessly subtle characterization, plotting and combination of realistic fiction with a touch of magic make this a book that sneaks inside your head and your heart and sets up camp. Every character is a gem, and I'm in a constant state of rereading this fantastic book and its sequel, The Dream Thieves. Both will leave you itching for the next while also satisfied with the reading experience you've just had.

— Paige Mushaw

The cast of characters that make up this book seem so effortlessly real readers are left to wonder if Stiefvater may possess some of the actual magic she so often writes about. Stiefvater's most compelling and spellbinding work is with this series, hands down. — Hanna Yost

Fall '12 Kids List

“Blue has grown up in a house full of women psychics who have foretold certain death for her first love. She unwillingly becomes friends with a gaggle of boys, the Raven Boys, from the very expensive private school in town. They're on the search for a mythical king who is said to grant a wish to whoever finds him. Will Blue's ability to intensify the magic around them help on their quest or put them in danger? The Raven Boys will pull you into their thrilling journey.”
— Hannah Johnson-Breimeier, Next Chapter Bookshop, Mequon, WI


An all-new series from the masterful, #1 New York Times bestselling author Maggie Stiefvater
"There are only two reasons a non-seer would see a spirit on St. Mark's Eve," Neeve said. "Either you're his true love . . . or you killed him."
It is freezing in the churchyard, even before the dead arrive.
Every year, Blue Sargent stands next to her clairvoyant mother as the soon-to-be dead walk past. Blue herself never sees them-not until this year, when a boy emerges from the dark and speaks directly to her.
His name is Gansey, and Blue soon discovers that he is a rich student at Aglionby, the local private school. Blue has a policy of staying away from Aglionby boys. Known as Raven Boys, they can only mean trouble.
But Blue is drawn to Gansey, in a way she can't entirely explain. He has it all-family money, good looks, devoted friends-but he's looking for much more than that. He is on a quest that has encompassed three other Raven Boys:

About the Author

Maggie Stiefvater is the #1 NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author of the novels SHIVER, LINGER, FOREVER, and THE SCORPIO RACES. She is also the author of LAMENT: THE FAERIE QUEEN'S DECEPTION and BALLAD: A GATHERING OF FAERIE. She lives in Virginia with her husband and their two children. You can visit her online at

Product Details
ISBN: 9780606320283
ISBN-10: 0606320288
Publisher: Turtleback Books
Publication Date: July 30th, 2013
Pages: 409
Language: English
Series: Raven Cycle