Between Shades of Gray: The Graphic Novel (Paperback)

Between Shades of Gray: The Graphic Novel Cover Image
By Ruta Sepetys, Andrew Donkin (Adapted by), Dave Kopka (Illustrator), Brann Livesay (With), Chris Dickey (With)
$12.99
Click Title for IN STORE Location
Northshire Manchester
3 on hand, as of Oct 25 6:18pm
(CH YOUNG ADULT)
Northshire Saratoga
3 on hand, as of Oct 25 6:18pm
(CH Graphic Novels-YA)

Description


Just in time for the 10th anniversary of Between Shades of Gray, Ruta Sepetys's award-winning debut novel, and inspiration for the major motion picture Ashes in the Snow, is now a gorgeous graphic novel!

From #1 New York Times and international bestselling author and Carnegie Medal winner of Salt to the Sea comes a story of loss and of fear--and ultimately of survival--in a brand-new four-color format.

"Few books are beautifully written, fewer still are important; this novel is both." --The Washington Post

New York Times notable book
An international bestseller
A Carnegie Medal nominee
A William C. Morris Award finalist
A Golden Kite Award winner

June, 1941. A knock comes at the door and the life of fifteen-year-old Lina Vilkas changes forever. She's arrested by the Soviet secret police and deported from Lithuania to Siberia with her mother and younger brother. The conditions are horrific and Lina must fight for her life and for the lives of those around her, including the boy that she loves. Risking everything, she secretly passes along clues in the form of drawings, hoping they will reach her father's prison camp. But will her messages, and her courage, be enough to reunite her family? Will they be enough to keep her alive?

A moving and haunting novel perfect for readers of The Book Thief, now available as a stunning graphic novel.

About the Author


Ruta Sepetys (rutasepetys.com) is an internationally acclaimed, #1 New York Times bestselling author of historical fiction published in over sixty countries and forty languages. Sepetys is considered a "crossover" novelist, as her books are read by both teens and adults worldwide. Her novels Between Shades of GrayOut of the EasySalt to the Sea, and The Fountains of Silence have won or been shortlisted for more than forty book prizes, and are included on more than sixty state award lists. Between Shades of Gray was adapted into the film Ashes in the Snow, and her other novels are currently in development for TV and film. Winner of the Carnegie Medal, Ruta is passionate about the power of history and literature to foster global awareness and connectivity. She has presented to NATO, to the European Parliament, in the United States Capitol, and at embassies worldwide. Ruta was born and raised in Michigan and now lives with her family in Nashville, Tennessee. Follow her on Instagram @RutaSepetysAuthor and on Facebook at facebook.com/rutasepetys.

Andrew Donkin (andrewdonkin.com) has sold over ten million graphic novels, children’s books, and adult books worldwide. His graphic novel Illegal (co-written with Eoin Colfer) was a bestseller in the USA and UK and has won or been nominated for over forty book awards. He has long been interested in the issue of refugees and displaced people. He has written for many global franchises, including Batman, Superman, Doctor Who, and Artemis Fowl. Andrew lives near the river Thames in London with his family. You can follow Andrew on Twitter and Instagram @andrewdonkin.

Dave Kopka (davekopka.com) is an illustrator whose work engages in print media in the form of book art, comics, and portraiture. He is fascinated with exploring the vast spectrums of art and illustration, employing an intricate attention to detail, and aspires to be a creative force in visual narrative through profound storytelling--usually involving the struggle to overcome, and the humor and misfortune behind internal conflict. He currently haunts Oakland, California. You can follow Dave on Twitter @DaveKopka and Instagram @drawkop.

Brann Livesay (milkyaway.com) is a concept artist and illustrator with an interest in stylization and social change through art. They currently work full time in video games, but their art has also appeared in comic anthologies, children's apps, and the sticker wall of that one pizza place in San Francisco. Brann was born and raised in the DC metro area but would later move to New York City, Albany, Miami, and finally Oakland, where they reside for now. Their interests include dogs and independently owned doughnut shops, particularly those that carry a strawberry frosted flavor. You can follow Brann on Twitter and Instagram @milkyawayart.

Praise For…


Praise for Between Shades of Gray:

“A superlative first novel. A hefty emotional punch.”--The New York Times Book Review

“Few books are beautifully written, fewer still are important; this novel is both.”--The Washington Post

"Beautiful…a superb though grueling novel.”--The Wall Street Journal

“An eye-opening reimagination of a very real tragedy written with grace and heart.”--Los Angeles Times

“An engrossing and poignant story of the fortitude of the human spirit in a dark time in Lithuanian history.”--Associated Press

 “Brave Lina is a heroine young and old readers can believe in.”--Entertainment Weekly

 “Please read this small window into a tragedy.”--NPR

“Beautifully written and researched, it captures the devastation of war while celebrating the will to survive.”--Family Circle

* “A harrowing page-turner.”--Publishers Weekly, starred review

* “A gripping story.”--School Library Journal, starred review

* “Bitterly sad, fluidly written…Sepetys' flowing prose gently carries readers.”--Kirkus, starred review

* "Beautifully written and deeply felt…an important book that deserves the widest possible readership.”--Booklist, starred review

“A haunting chronicle, demonstrating that even in the heart of darkness ‘love is the most powerful army.'”--The Horn Book Magazine

“Stalin deported and murdered millions, but he could not destroy the seeds of memory, compassion, and art that they left behind. From those seeds, Ruta Septeys has crafted a brilliant story of love and survival that will keep their memory alive for generations to come.”--Laurie Halse Anderson, bestselling author of Speak and Wintergirls

“In terrifying detail, Ruta Sepetys re-creates World War II coming of age all too timely today. Between Shades of Gray is a document long overdue.”--Richard Peck, Newbery Award–winning author of A Year Down Yonder

Between Shades of Gray is a story of astonishing force. I feel grateful for a writer like Ruta Sepetys who bravely tells the hard story of what happens to the innocent when world leaders and their minions choose hate and oppression. Beautiful and unforgettable.”--Susan Campbell Bartoletti, Newbery Honor–winning author of Hitler Youth

“Sepetys has penned a harrowing and heartbreaking novel. Beautifully written and important.”--Harlan Coben, international bestselling author of Shelter


Product Details
ISBN: 9780593404850
ISBN-10: 0593404858
Publisher: Philomel Books
Publication Date: October 12th, 2021
Pages: 160
Language: English