The Elephant's Girl (Hardcover) | Northshire Bookstore

The Elephant's Girl (Hardcover)

The Elephant's Girl Cover Image
$16.99
Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Northshire Manchester
2 on hand, as of Nov 27 12:45pm
(Children - MidChild)
Northshire Saratoga
1 on hand, as of Nov 27 12:45pm
(Children - MidChild)

Description


A magical adventure about a girl with a mysterious connection with the elephant who saved her life, for fans of Katherine Applegate and Jennifer Holm.

An elephant never forgets, but Lexington Willow can't remember what happened before a tornado swept her away when she was a toddler. All she knows is that it landed her near an enclosure in a Nebraska zoo; and there an elephant named Nyah protected her from the storm. With no trace of her birth family, Lex grew up at the zoo with Nyah and her elephant family; her foster father, Roger; her best friend, Fisher; and the wind whispering in her ear.

Now that she's twelve, Lex is finally old enough to help with the elephants. But during their first training session, Nyah sends her a telepathic image of the woods outside the zoo. Despite the wind's protests, Lex decides to investigate Nyah's message and gets wrapped up in an adventure involving ghosts, lost treasure, and a puzzle that might be the key to finding her family. As she hunts for answers, Lex must summon the courage to leave the secure borders of her zoo to discover who she really is--and why the tornado brought her here all those years ago.

About the Author


Celesta Rimington is an elephant advocate, a musical theater performer, and an active participant in her local writing community. As a teenager, she worked at a zoo in Omaha, which is part of the reason she set her story in Nebraska. She now lives in Utah with her husband and two children, where they have a miniature railroad with a rideable steam train.
celestarimington.com

Praise For…


"Well-rounded, often mischievous human characters. . . . Readers will eagerly accompany [Lex]." —Booklist 

"Poignant. . . . An already engaging tale of life at a zoo turns into a mystery . . . [and] a bittersweet ending completes the story's magic and mystery." —Kirkus Reviews

"
Skillfully paced with just the right amount of tension, this offers a thoughtful look at how our past shapes our present, and how, similarly, memory is shaped by our current circumstances." —The Bulletin

"This story of friendship includes magical realism, mystery, and adventure that is sure to capture young readers’ attention. Perfect for fans of Kate DiCamillo." —School Library Journal


Product Details
ISBN: 9780593121221
ISBN-10: 0593121228
Publisher: Crown Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: May 19th, 2020
Pages: 336
Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Daily 10am-6pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990
Daily 10am-6pm
Directions to Saratoga Springs