The Weight of Ink (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Logo
The Weight of Ink Cover Image
$28.00
In Stock
Northshire Manchester
2 on hand, as of Nov 21 10:15am
(Fiction)
Northshire Saratoga
3 on hand, as of Nov 21 10:15am
(Fiction)

Staff Reviews


This is a grand novel in the tradition of the People of the Book. A mystery within a mystery and from the point of 2 women; both scholars. One, in the 17th century & one in the 20th. Each era & each woman is a mirror & foil for the other. Both are entwined in the lives of the 1st legal Jewish community in London in 1660, a dangerous time politically & religiously. — Maeve Noonan

Description


An intellectual and emotional jigsaw puzzle of a novel for readers of A. S. Byatt's Possession and Geraldine Brooks's People of the Book

Set in London of the 1660s and of the early twenty-first century, The Weight of Ink is the interwoven tale of two women of remarkable intellect: Ester Velasquez, an emigrant from Amsterdam who is permitted to scribe for a blind rabbi, just before the plague hits the city; and Helen Watt, an ailing historian with a love of Jewish history.

As the novel opens, Helen has been summoned by a former student to view a cache of seventeenth-century Jewish documents newly discovered in his home during a renovation. Enlisting the help of Aaron Levy, an American graduate student as impatient as he is charming, and in a race with another fast-moving team of historians, Helen embarks on one last project: to determine the identity of the documents' scribe, the elusive "Aleph."

Electrifying and ambitious, sweeping in scope and intimate in tone, The Weight of Ink is a sophisticated work of historical fiction about women separated by centuries, and the choices and sacrifices they must make in order to reconcile the life of the heart and mind.
Product Details
ISBN: 9780544866461
ISBN-10: 0544866460
Publisher: Houghton Mifflin
Publication Date: June 6th, 2017
Pages: 576
Language: English
Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Saratoga Springs