Greenglass House: A Winter and Holiday Book for Kids (Paperback)

Staff Pick Badge
Greenglass House: A Winter and Holiday Book for Kids By Kate Milford, Jaime Zollars (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Kate Milford, Jaime Zollars (Illustrator)
$8.99
In Stock
Northshire Saratoga
2 on hand, as of Dec 9 6:18am
(CH MIDCHILD)

Staff Reviews


An intriguing mystery in the classic style. Strangers with secrets are trapped in a big house in a winter storm. Are they really strangers to each other, or do their secrets all intersect? While the grown-ups take turns telling stories to relieve the tension, young sleuths Milo and Meddy use their wits and their RPG skills to put the puzzle pieces together. What will you discover hidden in the Greenglass House? For fans of Mysterious Benedict Society or The Westing Game.

— Jennifer Armstrong

This fantastic book is one of my favorite novels, for children or otherwise.Milo's parents own an inn frequented by (lovable) smugglers, but when a collection of odd characters appear just before Christmas, their presence threatens to derail a normally peaceful holiday. To cope, Milo begins a game of role-play and mystery with the cook's daughter Meddy. However, what begins as a game soon begins to take on very real and somewhat alarming consequences. As they delve into the inn's past and the lives of their suspicious house guests, they soon discover much more than they bargained for. This is an engrossing and well written book that will entertain both children and parents alike, probably more than once. Surprises await! — James Case

Description


New York Times Bestseller * National Book Award Nominee * Winner of the Edgar Award for Best Juvenile Mystery

It’s wintertime at Greenglass House. The creaky smuggler’s inn is always quiet during this season, and twelve-year-old Milo, the innkeepers’ adopted son, plans to spend his holidays relaxing.

But on the first icy night of vacation, out of nowhere, the guest bell rings. Then rings again. And again...

Soon Milo’s home is bursting with odd, secretive guests, each one bearing a strange story that is somehow connected to the rambling old house. As objects go missing and tempers flare, Milo and Meddy, the cook’s daughter, must decipher clues and untangle the web of deepening mysteries to discover the truth about Greenglass House—and themselves.

About the Author


Kate Milford is the New York Times best-selling author of the Edgar Award–winning, National Book Award nominee Greenglass House, as well as Ghosts of Greenglass House, Bluecrowne, The Thief Knot, and many more. She lives with her family in Brooklyn, New York. www.greenglasshousebooks.com and www.katemilfordwritesbooks.com,
Twitter: @KateMilford



JAIME ZOLLARS has illustrated children’s books, magazines, newspapers, and ad campaigns for clients that include United Airlines, Random House, The American Red Cross, Scholastic, and the L.A. Weekly. Jaime is inspired by fairy tales and Flemish painters, non-fiction books, forgotten paper, found textures, and flea market photographs. She lives and works in Baltimore, Maryland, with her husband and son. To find out more, visit www.jaimezollars.com.

Praise For…


"An enchanting, empowering, and cozy read." — Booklist (starred review)

"An abundantly diverting mystery." — Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

"The legends and folktales Milford creates add to Nagspeake's charm and gently prepare the ground for a fantasy twist."  — Publishers Weekly

"Give this one to fans of Trenton Lee Stewart's The Mysterious Benedict Society."  — School Library Journal

"The intricately woven connections, large cast of memorable characters, and beautifully detailed writing come together to make this exceptionally engaging story leap off the page." — VOYA

"Milford employs a Westing Game level of cunning in setting up clues, revealing their importance, and immediately pivoting to a higher level of mystery, gratifying readers as she pulls them into the story."  — Horn Book Magazine



Product Details
ISBN: 9780544540286
ISBN-10: 054454028X
Publisher: Clarion Books
Publication Date: November 1st, 2016
Pages: 400
Language: English
Series: Greenglass House