The Giver (Giver Quartet #1) (Paperback)

Staff Pick Badge
The Giver (Giver Quartet #1) Cover Image
Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Northshire Manchester
1 on hand, as of May 13 4:15pm
Northshire Saratoga
1 on hand, as of May 13 4:30pm

Other Books in Series

This is book number 1 in the Giver Quartet series.

Staff Reviews

Everyone should read this Newbery Award-winning book. Jonas lives in a perfect world—no war, no fear, no pain, and no hunger. No freedom! Everything is controlled. Jonas has been chosen to receive the memories of the time before him, a time when true pleasure and pain were still felt. This incredibly provacative, tightly woven story will stay with you for a very long time. Ages 8 and up. — Jessica Wood

Beautifully written, Lowry chooses each word with careful precision. Every syllable carries meaning as Lowry paints an equally beautiful and frightening future picture. In a society where color is a thing of the past, music is a concept and art form long forgotten, and kids are assigned to their lives work at 12, hope for a better future inadvertently springs from a young boy. The first of a quartet, The Giver is also a phenomenal standalone that will forever be close to my heart. — Misha D'Andrea

In this very real, possible future, feelings are null, love does not exist, and you are, essentially, the same as everyone else. Cleverly written, Lowry winds a moving, profound, and unsettling story of an idyllic society where Sameness is normal, and uniqueness is frowned upon. A perfect book to spark a deep discussion about controlled communities, embracing your differences, familial ties, and the fine line between doing what's right, and doing something because you don't know any better. — Angela Turon


In Lois Lowry’s Newbery Medal–winning classic, twelve-year-old Jonas lives in a seemingly ideal world. Not until he is given his life assignment as the Receiver does he begin to understand the dark secrets behind his fragile community.

The Giver, the 1994 Newbery Medal winner, has become one of the most influential novels of our time. The haunting story centers on twelve-year-old Jonas, who lives in a seemingly ideal, if colorless, world of conformity and contentment. Not until he is given his life assignment as the Receiver of Memory does he begin to understand the dark, complex secrets behind his fragile community. Lois Lowry has written three companion novels to The Giver, including Gathering Blue, Messenger, and Son.

About the Author

Lois Lowry is the author of more than forty books for children and young adults, including the New York Times bestselling Giver Quartet and popular Anastasia Krupnik series. She has received countless honors, among them the Boston Globe-Horn Book Award, the Dorothy Canfield Fisher Award, the California Young Reader’s Medal, and the Mark Twain Award. She received Newbery Medals for two of her novels, Number the Stars and The Giver. Her first novel, A Summer to Die, was awarded the International Reading Association’s Children’s Book Award. Ms. Lowry lives in Maine. 
Twitter @LoisLowryWriter

Praise For…

“A powerful and provocative novel”—The New York Times


“Wrought with admirable skill -- the emptiness and menace underlying this Utopia emerge step by inexorable step: a richly provocative novel.”—Kirkus, starred review

“Lowry is once again in top form raising many questions while answering few, and unwinding a tale fit for the most adventurous readers.”—Publishers Weekly, starred review


“The simplicity and directness of Lowry's writing force readers to grapple with their own thoughts.”— Booklist, starred review


“The theme of balancing the values of freedom and security is beautifully presented.”— The Horn Book Magazine, starred review

Product Details
ISBN: 9780544336261
ISBN-10: 0544336267
Publisher: HMH Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: July 1st, 2014
Pages: 240
Language: English
Series: Giver Quartet