Ghosts of Harvard: A Novel (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Badge
Ghosts of Harvard: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Northshire Manchester
2 on hand, as of Sep 29 1:15pm
(Mystery)
Northshire Saratoga
2 on hand, as of Sep 29 1:15pm
(Mystery)

Staff Reviews


“Just because it’s my choice to go doesn’t mean I’m not heartbroken to leave you.”
Incoming freshman Cady Archer is starting her first year at Harvard, the same school her older brother Eric had until he committed suicide the previous semester. Cady is still reeling from his death, but she’s determined to stick with Harvard and understand what made his schizophrenia get so bad that he killed himself. And find out if she suffers from the same illness, since she’s starting to hear voices from the ghosts of Harvard’s past.
The book tackles a lot, and cannot be limited to just the category of "supernatural mystery." It's a book first and foremost about grief, while also tackling mental illness, coming of age, suspense, romance and espionage. Cady’s battle with grief and guilt over losing Eric and the constant why did he do it are what keep you following her across the campus of Harvard. I think this is a great novel for young adults and new adults to start diving into the thriller and mystery genres.

Kirstin Swartz

Description


TEEN VOGUE BOOK CLUB PICK • A Harvard freshman becomes obsessed with her schizophrenic brother’s suicide. Then she starts hearing voices.

“A rich, intricately plotted thriller . . . Serritella, who is a Harvard grad herself, writes about the campus with an insider’s savvy.”—Maureen Corrigan, The Washington Post

“Every time I thought I knew where Ghosts of Harvard was heading, I turned out to be wrong. Part mystery, part ghost story, part psychological thriller, this novel is all entertainment.”—#1 New York Times bestselling author Jodi Picoult
 
Cadence Archer arrives on Harvard’s campus desperate to understand why her brother, Eric, a genius who developed paranoid schizophrenia took his own life there the year before. Losing Eric has left a black hole in Cady’s life, and while her decision to follow in her brother’s footsteps threatens to break her family apart, she is haunted by questions of what she might have missed. And there’s only one place to find answers.
 
As Cady struggles under the enormous pressure at Harvard, she investigates her brother’s final year, armed only with a blue notebook of Eric’s cryptic scribblings. She knew he had been struggling with paranoia, delusions, and illusory enemies—but what tipped him over the edge? Voices fill her head, seemingly belonging to three ghosts who passed through the university in life, or death, and whose voices, dreams, and terrors still echo the halls. Among them is a person whose name has been buried for centuries, and another whose name mankind will never forget.
 
Does she share Eric’s illness, or is she tapping into something else? Cady doesn’t know how or why these ghosts are contacting her, but as she is drawn deeper into their worlds, she believes they’re moving her closer to the truth about Eric, even as keeping them secret isolates her further. Will listening to these voices lead her to the one voice she craves—her brother’s—or will she follow them down a path to her own destruction?

About the Author


Francesca Serritella is the New York Times bestselling author of a nine-book series of essay collections co-written with her mother, bestselling author Lisa Scottoline, and based on “Chick Wit,” their Sunday column in The Philadelphia Inquirer. She graduated cum laude from Harvard University, where she won multiple awards for her fiction, including the Thomas T. Hoopes Prize. Ghosts of Harvard is her first novel.

Praise For…


Ghosts of Harvard is written with a masterly, focused hand, belying the fact that this is Serritella’s debut novel. The pages burn with frenetic energy and are peopled by memorable, compelling characters. The tension is palpable, the twists and surprises perfectly timed and the stakes as high as humans should be asked to endure. The end result, a novel you will long remember and characters you will want to see again. A triumph in every respect.”—#1 New York Times bestselling author David Baldacci
 
“Wow, what a lively, compelling, and intoxicating debut. Ghosts of Harvard is so many things—a rumination on grief, a glimpse behind the ivory walls of a famous institution, a poignant look at mental illness, and a powerful story about the ghosts that haunt us all. Francesca Serritella is my new ‘go-to’ author.”—#1 New York Times bestselling author Harlan Coben

Ghosts of Harvard is a wrenchingly beautiful book. With immense heart and unwavering empathy, Francesca Serritella explores the legacy of loss and the mystery of family. It’s one of those rare novels that spirits you to a deeper understanding of your own life, one of those stories whose voice you’ll continue to hear long after you’ve turned the last page.”—Bret Anthony Johnston, internationally bestselling author of Remember Me Like This

“Edge-of-your-seat tense . . . Fans of Jodi Picoult, Kristin Hannah and Chris Bohjalian, meet your new issue-based page turner. You may need to use a few precious paper towels to mop up the tears.”The New York Times Book Review
 
Ghosts of Harvard is a rich, intricately plotted thriller that gathers suspense velocity as Cady runs through the mazelike halls of academe and the winding streets of Cambridge, chasing after clues to the more sinister circumstances of [her brother] Eric’s death. It’s a testament to Serritella’s sure touch that when Cady’s ghostly companions ultimately make their final departures, Harvard seems duller.”Maureen Corrigan, The Washington Post

“Hauntingly beautiful . . . An unexpected and entirely welcomed summer read . . . It’s dark, unpredictable, and every chapter draws you further and further into the story, each one more exciting than the next. . . . Ghosts of Harvard’s thrilling layers are entirely immersive. . . . From the very start of the novel, Serritella is unafraid to take on difficult topics. . . . She approaches these feelings, themes, and histories with care and nuance, careful to avoid stereotypes or stigmas.”Teen Vogue

“Those who like novels by Joe Hill and Pat Conroy will also enjoy this first novel. . . . The book begins as a thriller and ends as a story of personal growth and redemption. The writing is vivid and engaging, and it works for adults as well as for mature young adult readers.”Library Journal (starred review)


Product Details
ISBN: 9780525510369
ISBN-10: 0525510362
Publisher: Random House
Publication Date: May 5th, 2020
Pages: 480
Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Daily 10am-6pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990
Daily 10am-6pm
Directions to Saratoga Springs