A Natural (Hardcover)

A Natural Cover Image
$27.00
In Stock
Northshire Manchester
2 on hand, as of Jan 22 8:45am
(Fiction)
Northshire Saratoga
1 on hand, as of Jan 22 8:45am
(Fiction)

Description


An exquisitely crafted coming-of-age novel set in the high-stakes world of English soccer--for readers of Nick Hornby and The Art of Fielding.

After his unceremonious release from a Premier League academy at nineteen, Tom feels his bright future slipping away. The only contract offer he receives is from a lower-level club. Away from home for the first time, Tom struggles on and off the field, anxious to avoid the cruel pranks and hazing rituals of his teammates. Then a taboo encounter upends what little stability he has, forcing Tom to reconcile his suppressed desires with his drive to succeed.

Meanwhile, the team's popular captain, Chris, is in denial about the state of his marriage. His wife, Leah, has almost forgotten the dreams she once held for her career. As her husband is transferred from club to club, and raising their first child practically on her own, she is lost, disillusioned with where life has taken her.

A Natural delves into the heart of a professional soccer club: the pressure, the loneliness, the threat of scandal, the fragility of the body, and the struggle of conforming to the person everybody else expects you to be.

Praise for A Natural

"This is a bold novel. Raisin has a] deep and unwavering empathy for others, and an ability to find flashes of beauty in life's unforgiving ugliness. His language might be spare, but his turn of phrase is strikingly elegant. . . . The way is lit by his keen perceptions; the novel suggests the frustrations that arise when lived experience fails to align with what was imagined, and analyzes the gap between spectatorship and participation. . . . If Raisin has chosen to focus on that which stifles rather than frees us, he has done so to demonstrate precisely why we need all the things that society and circumstance suppress. . . . The confidence and skill with which he pursues his vision is not just persuasive, it's powerful."--The New York Times Book Review

"Raisin's transporting and acutely observed novel speaks to us all. First-rate."--Booklist (starred review)

"An intimate picture of life in the lower reaches of professional British football . . . a bold theme . . . is rendered with restraint and sympathy. . . . A Natural] is a sensitive treatment of very different kinds of solitude and pain."--Kirkus Reviews

About the Author


Ross Raisin was born in West Yorkshire. His first novel, God's Own Country, published in 2008, was shortlisted for nine literary awards, including the Guardian First Book Award. In 2009, Raisin was named the Sunday Times Young Writer of the Year. In 2013, he was selected as one of Granta's Best of Young British Novelists. Ross Raisin lives in London.
Product Details
ISBN: 9780525508779
ISBN-10: 0525508775
Publisher: Random House
Publication Date: October 17th, 2017
Pages: 400
Language: English
Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Saratoga Springs