In Darkling Wood (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Logo
In Darkling Wood Cover Image
$16.99
In Stock
Northshire Manchester
2 on hand, as of Mar 24 3:52pm
(Children - MidChild)
Northshire Saratoga
1 on hand, as of Mar 24 3:52pm
(Children - MidChild)

Staff Reviews


Alice is living with her grandmother and struggling with the news of her brother's heart transplant. Her grandmother wants to cut down the mysterious woods surrounding them and home to fairies and magical possibilities. A story of hope and belief told across two time periods and the balance between magic and dark family secrets. — Martha Cornwell

Description


For fans of The Girl Who Drank the Moon, The Secret Garden, and Tuck Everlasting, In Darkling Wood is a spine-tingling novel with a forthright, modern heroine and more than a hint of mystery and magic.

When Alice is suddenly bundled off to her estranged grandmother's Nell's house, there's nothing good about it, except the beautiful Darkling Wood at the end of the garden--but Nell wants to have it cut down. Alice feels at home there, at peace. She even finds a friend, a girl named Flo. But Flo doesn't go to the local school, and no one in town has heard of her. When Flo shows Alice the surprising secrets of Darkling Wood, Alice starts to wonder: what is real? And can she find out in time to save the wood from destruction?
★ -A haunting and poignant exploration of family, loss, and redemption.---Booklist, Starred Review
★ -A tale brimming with emotion and atmosphere.... In Darkling Wood] is absorbing and well written. Hand this to readers who enjoy fantasy, fairy tales, and magical realism.---School Library Journal, Starred Review
-Magic and mystery adds appeal to this already compelling family drama...and Carroll manages to wrap all of the threads into a wholly satisfying ending.---Bulletin
-Beautifully drawn, and the pragmatic prose and completely modern language (except for the letters) ground the story. The fairies aren't covered in pixie dust here. Carroll is becoming well-known in her native England; this book should win her American fans.--Kirkus Reviews

About the Author


Emma Carroll is a secondary school English teacher. She has also worked as a news reporter, an avocado picker, and the person who punches holes into Filofax paper. She recently graduated with distinction from Bath Spa University, earning an MA in Writing for Young People. In Darkling Wood is Emma's third novel. She lives in the Somerset hills with her husband and two terriers. Visit Emma at emmacarrollauthor.wordpress.com, and follow her on Facebook and Twitter.
Product Details
ISBN: 9780399556012
ISBN-10: 039955601X
Publisher: Delacorte Press
Publication Date: March 14th, 2017
Pages: 240
Language: English