The Secrets of the Pied Piper 1: The Peddler's Road (Hardcover) | Northshire Bookstore

The Secrets of the Pied Piper 1: The Peddler's Road (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Badge
The Secrets of the Pied Piper 1: The Peddler's Road Cover Image
$17.99
Hard to Find - May no longer be available

Staff Reviews


Adventure awaits for fans of Land of Stories!
Pink-haired Max and her brother move to Hamelin, Germany with their father, a folktale professor, and right away things go wrong. Rats in the walls, strangers in the shadows... That night, Max and Carter hear the Pied Piper's song and are lead away, just like the Hamelin children 700 years ago. They wake up in a land of danger, and war - the lost children vs the rats, battling for centuries, and Max and Carter will have to join the fight to find a way home. This book brings a classic fairy-tale to the modern age!

— Leah Moore

Description


“Explodes into a wild fantasy adventure. . . . Cody has begun what promises to be an epic trilogy.”Adam Gidwitz, New York Times bestselling author of A Tale Dark and Grimm
 
It is said that in the thirteenth century, in a town called Hamelin, a piper lured all of the children away with his magical flute, and none of them were ever seen again.
 
Today, tough, pink-haired Max and her little brother, Carter, are stuck in modern-day Hamelin with their father . . . until they are also led away by the Piper to a place called the Summer Isle. There they meet the original stolen children, who haven’t aged a day and who have formed their own town, vigilantly guarded from the many nightmarish beings that roam the land.
 
No one knows why the Piper stole them, but Max and Carter may be the key to returning the lost children of Hamelin. Together they set out on the Peddler’s Road to find their way back to the real world.
 
This swashbuckling journey is perfect for fans of Rump and A Tale Dark and Grimm. Don’t miss the second adventure in the series, The Magician’s Key!

About the Author


Matthew Cody is the author of several popular books, including the Supers of Noble’s Green trilogy: Powerless, Super, and Villainous. He is also the author of Will in Scarlet and The Dead Gentleman, as well as one other book in the Secrets of the Pied Piper series, The Magician’s Key. Originally from the Midwest, he now lives with his wife and son in Manhattan. Learn more about Matthew and his books at matthewcody.com and @matthew_cody.


Product Details
ISBN: 9780385755221
ISBN-10: 0385755228
Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: October 27th, 2015
Pages: 368
Language: English
Series: The Secrets of the Pied Piper
Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Daily 10am-6pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990
Daily 10am-6pm
Directions to Saratoga Springs