The Boy, the Wolf, and the Stars (Hardcover) | Northshire Bookstore

The Boy, the Wolf, and the Stars (Hardcover)

The Boy, the Wolf, and the Stars Cover Image
$16.99
Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Northshire Saratoga
1 on hand, as of Dec 2 2:15pm
(Children - MidChild)

Description


A boy and his pet fox go on a quest to find a wolf who has eaten all the Stars in the sky before the Shadow Witch destroys the Stars and removes good magic from the world forever, perfect for fans of The Girl Who Drank the Moon and Nevermoor.

Long ago, the land of Ulv was filled with magic. But that was before a wolf ate all the Stars in the night sky, ridding the world of magic and allowing Shadow Creatures, beasts made of shadow and evil, to flourish. Twelve-year-old Bo knows the stories but thinks the Stars and the wolf who ate them are nothing more than myths—until the day Bo’s guardian, Mads, is attacked by a giant wolf straight from the legends. With his dying breath, Mads tells Bo that Ulv is in danger and the only way to prevent the Shadow Creatures from taking over is to return the Stars to the sky.

And so Bo—accompanied by his best friend, a fox called Nix, a girl named Selene whose magic is tied to the return of the Stars, and Tam, a bird-woman who has vowed to protect Bo at all costs—sets off on a quest to find the three magical keys that will release the Stars. But Bo isn’t the only one who wants the Stars, and the friends soon find themselves fleeing angry villagers, greedy merchants, and a vengeful wolf. And all the while, an evil witch lurks in the shadows and time is running out.

About the Author


Shivaun Plozza is the author of the critically acclaimed novel Frankie, which was a YALSA Teens Top 10 Pick and on the ALA's Best Fiction for Young Adults List, and Tin Heart, which was nominated to the ALA's Best Fiction for Young Adults List. When she’s not writing, she works as an editor and manuscript assessor. The Boy, the Wolf, and the Stars is her middle-grade debut. She lives in Victoria, Australia, with her cat.
shivaunplozza.com
Twitter: @ShivaunPlozza
Instagram: @shivaunplozza

Praise For…


"A relentless plot keeps the pages turning"—Kirkus Reviews

"With this fanciful adventure, Plozza invokes the language of myth and fairy tales to construct a complex, heartwarming hero’s quest."—Publishers Weekly

"Readers who enjoy fantastical quests will happily tag along with Bo, who must solve riddles and survive many dangers during his journey."—Booklist

"Readers will want to have tissues handy for the conclusion.... A good choice for fans of Kelly Barnhill and Grace Lin."—BCCB


Product Details
ISBN: 9780358243892
ISBN-10: 0358243890
Publisher: HMH Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: November 17th, 2020
Pages: 384
Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Daily 10am-6pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990
Daily 10am-6pm
Directions to Saratoga Springs