Awkward (Berrybrook Middle School #1) (Paperback) | Northshire Bookstore

Awkward (Berrybrook Middle School #1) (Paperback)

Staff Pick Badge
Awkward (Berrybrook Middle School #1) Cover Image
$11.00
Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Northshire Saratoga
1 on hand, as of Nov 24 11:45am
(Children - Graphic Novels)

Other Books in Series

This is book number 1 in the Berrybrook Middle School series.


Staff Reviews


Fans of Smile and Roller Girl will love this graphic novel - great story and great art! Penelope is the new girl at school and right away things start off rocky...she pushes a boy over in the hall, when he was just trying to help her! She keeps trying to say sorry, but it's just too awkward - will she have to spend the rest of the school year hiding like a ninja whenever she sees him?! And now the Art Club, the only place she has friends, is in danger. The principle says they need to "contribute to school community" if they want to have a club next year! Can they save Art Club? Maybe with the help of their enemies, the Science Club, and that boy... if they can face the awkwardness of asking!

— Leah Moore

Description


Cardinal rule #1 for surviving school: Don't get noticed by the mean kids.

Cardinal rule #2 for surviving school: Seek out groups with similar interests and join them.

On her first day at her new school, Penelope--Peppi--Torres reminds herself of these basics. But when she trips into a quiet boy in the hall, Jaime Thompson, she's already broken the first rule, and the mean kids start calling her the "nerder girlfriend." How does she handle this crisis? By shoving poor Jaime and running away!

Falling back on rule two and surrounding herself with new friends in the art club, Peppi still can't help feeling ashamed about the way she treated Jaime. Things are already awkward enough between the two, but to make matters worse, he's a member of her own club's archrivals--the science club! And when the two clubs go to war, Peppi realizes that sometimes you have to break the rules to survive middle school!

About the Author


Svetlana Chmakova was born and raised in Russia until the age of 16, when her family emigrated to Canada. She quickly made a name for herself with works like Dramacon, Nightschool, the manga adaptation of James Patterson's Witch & Wizard, and the webcomic Chasing Rainbows. She graduated from Sheridan College with a three-year Classical Animation Diploma. Her latest work for middle grade readers, Awkward, has been a runaway critical success and was named one of YALSA's 2016 Top Ten Great Graphic Novels for Teens!


Product Details
ISBN: 9780316381307
ISBN-10: 0316381306
Publisher: JY
Publication Date: July 21st, 2015
Pages: 224
Language: English
Series: Berrybrook Middle School
Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Daily 10am-6pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990
Daily 10am-6pm
Directions to Saratoga Springs