Arlo & Pips: King of the Birds (Paperback)

Staff Pick Badge
Arlo & Pips: King of the Birds Cover Image
By Elise Gravel, Elise Gravel (Illustrator)
$7.99
IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 3-7 Business Days

Other Books in Series

This is book number 1 in the Arlo & Pips series.


Staff Reviews


Do you want to have fun while learning about crows? Then, I cannot recommend Arlo & Pips: Kings of the Birds enough. Done in story format, we have two birds (Arlo the crow and one little yellow bird who goes by Pips) who meet one day. After a lot of bragging by Arlo, Pips learns this is one of the traits of crows. Pips and the reader learn other fun facts about crows (such as the loving of shiny objects, how smart and clever crows are, that they are “good singers” and so much more). These two unlikely friends have an adventure, teach about crows and has clarifying statements when certain claims are made (such as how crows (and this reviewer) really like shiny objects).

Jeanette

Fall 2020 Kids Indie Next List


“For fans of Narwhal and Jelly comes a new unlikely pair: Arlo the crow, a king among birds, and Pips, the yellow songbird who’s curious to know what makes Arlo so special. During their adventures, Arlo shows his new friend tricks and habits that prove just how crafty crows can be! I found myself laughing along with Arlo’s antics and learning a thing or two about crows. A perfect graphic novel for early readers.”
— Tori-Lynn Bell, House of Books, Kent, CT

Description


Perfect for fans of Narwhal and Jelly, Arlo & Pips: King of the Birds is the first in a new early graphic chapter book series about the friendship between Arlo, an arrogant crow, and a sarcastic little bird named Pips. 

Like most crows, Arlo has a big brain. But Arlo has something else: a little pal who’s not afraid to tell him when he’s being insufferable!

In the first of three episodes, a battle of the brains and bird-to-bird banter soon turns into an unexpected friendship. Arlo and Pips' adventures include a visit the big city and the beach on their hunt for shiny things and French fries. Cool crow facts are included throughout the book.

Everyone's crowing about Arlo & Pips, with Kirkus praising it as "a perfect match for newly independent readers"!

More praise for Arlo & Pips #1: King of the Crows: A New York Public Library Best Book * A Chicago Public Library Best of the Best * A Junior Library Guild Selection * "An unexpected friendship story! In three short graphic chapters marked by [Gravel’s] signature sly humor, facts about crows are sprinkled throughout, making the reader believe that maybe crows are truly as amazing as Arlo says.” —The Horn Book (starred review)

About the Author


Elise Gravel loves all animals, especially her two cats, who are not as clever as Arlo but pretty funny all the same. She is the creator of the Olga series inspired by her science-loving daughter, as well as many other books for children, including I Want a Monster!The Cranky BallerinaThe Mushroom Fan Club, If Found . . . Please Return to Elise Gravel. and Puppy In My Head: A Book about Mindfulness. Elise lives in Montreal with her husband, two daughters, and those splendid cats. Find her at elisegravel.com. 

  



Elise Gravel loves all animals, especially her two cats, who are not as clever as Arlo but pretty funny all the same. She is the creator of the Olga series inspired by her science-loving daughter, as well as many other books for children, including I Want a Monster!The Cranky BallerinaThe Mushroom Fan Club, If Found . . . Please Return to Elise Gravel. and Puppy In My Head: A Book about Mindfulness. Elise lives in Montreal with her husband, two daughters, and those splendid cats. Find her at elisegravel.com. 

  

Praise For…


“Fun and informative! This book will FLY off the shelves!” — Ben Clanton, bestselling author of the Narwhal and Jelly series

"Straightforward sentences, limited color scheme, and thick black outlines make this a perfect match for newly independent readers. Through Pips’ inquisitiveness and Arlo’s desire to prove himself, readers also learn much about the intelligence, diet, and behavior of crows. A charming treasure." — Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

“It's an unexpected friendship story! In three short graphic chapters marked by [Gravel's] signature sly humor, facts about crows are sprinkled throughout...making the reader believe that maybe crows are truly as amazing as Arlo says.” — Horn Book (starred review)

"Gravel brings the smart attitude of her Disgusting Critters series to a more fictional narrative here, and it’s just as informative and accessible in its provision of kid-pleasing facts...Aspiring birders with a flair for the dramatic may be particularly drawn to Arlo’s braggadocio." — Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

"This simple story of would-be friendship [has] Gravel's distinctive panels and snappy dialogue...crow facts appear throughout like cereal-box prizes" — Publishers Weekly



Product Details
ISBN: 9780062982223
ISBN-10: 0062982222
Publisher: HarperAlley
Publication Date: October 6th, 2020
Pages: 64
Language: English
Series: Arlo & Pips